Newborn Book Babies Are Like Real Babies ~ #ROW80 Check-In

4

What I mean is, they both require a whole lot of attention for that first bit.

Cynthia Louise Scott and I connected on Twitter last week.  First thing she told me was that she missed my posts.  So, I am making sure I post today.  It doesn’t matter that I need to clean the bathroom, call my father, order guinea pig food, and a thousand other things.  I’m a freaking sponsor and I’m super failing!  Today, I’ll be making it up as best as I can.

That said, you either do or will understand why I’ve been so busy at some point.  UNMASKING: LEMON’S THESIS 100% officially released March 2nd.  Wednesday I did a big video event (readings and crafts) to celebrate the release.  Thursday, my writing time found me at my job (I can’t call it work, because I enjoy my time there too much to consider it “work”).  I got home in time to do mom stuff.  Friday, I reached out to the wonderful writers* I have connected with (and some complete strangers).

12805985_1340666412626634_7747000645496474296_n.jpgAnd then came Saturday.  I left my house at 11:15 am and didn’t get home until 7:30 pm.  I did my first ever book signing.  You might have seen me promote it once or twice.  To be honest, I was kind of there for the event too, though. I even got a question through.  “Which Blue Beetle will be in Rebirth?” (There’s 3 it could be!)  Dan Didio totally dodged my question.  (I want Jamie Reyes, for the record.)

12778789_1340665629293379_1761550489203664574_o.jpgYou might be wondering how it went.  I sold out of books and I got a pre-order for one more.  (Ordering more books is part of the thousand things to do, along with sweeping the floor, brushing the dogs, doing the kids’ laundry, and more.)  I’m excited and nervous as I order more.  Will it keep going this well?

Truth is, it will keep going well if I keep working hard at it!  If I keep reaching out and making connections.  As long as I keep looking for opportunities.  Then, yes, I will keep doing this well.

So, how have I been doing with my goals?

As well as I have been doing with my posting here.  Terribly.  I’ve been dropping the ball a lot (not just writing, with everything).  I get done what must be done, though.  I keep saying, “This week, I’ll get it under control.”  Because, last year?  OMG, I was on top of everything!  I juggled like I never juggled before.  This year so far has been chaotic, but super eventful (mostly good).  One of these weeks, I’ll be right and finally get everything under control and running smoothly.  For now, rather than beat myself up, I’m focusing on the awesome things I’m accomplishing.

Want to help me promote?  Please contact me!  I have a media kit.  Can do guest posts, interviews, and other things.  Can you spare me a RT?

What have you been neglecting?
Have you ever failed at goals while feeling you succeeded?
Is there any place you would like to do a book signing at?

*- Some are ROWers, some are WIPpeteers, and some are through other projects I have worked on.  All of these writers and kind, supportive, and helpful.  I totally appreciate the support and feel super lucky to know all of them.

Categories: 2016 7a, ROW80, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Newborn Book Babies Are Like Real Babies ~ #ROW80 Check-In

  1. Sounds like you’ve had a busy week. glad it sounds like you’re signing went well. We were gone most of the day as well. But got to go to Barnes & Noble while son & husband went to an outdoor expo. Got some new books & worked on a blog post while the girl read.

    I’ve been neglecting exercise. Planning to get back on track with that this week. May even be able to get outside for some walks now that it’s warming up.

    • 😀 It is amazing how supportive people can be (let’s just say my fear was trying to convince me otherwise). I need to recharge my introvert batteries, though.

      It sounds like you had a fantastic day too! And I’m hoping you’re right about the weather. My dogs and I both want to get out there and walk. (My knee has been objecting to running lately, which bums me out.) But, you have to admit, this year has been waaaaay better than last year.

      • I totally get that. I’m always anxious asking people for help, and almost always they’re willing to do whatever.

        It certainly has been. We’re supposed to have at least a couple days in the 60s this week.

        • On that note: I just want to remind you, anything, any time. Don’t even bother asking me. Just send it. Tell me what to do. 😉 And thank you for your help!

  2. Congrats on the book release! Both times I released books, life was super crazy and stressful for awhile before and after, so I think that’s totally normal.

    I’ve been neglecting exercise, and I really need to get back on track. I’d feel better and I’d probably lose the weight I’ve been trying to lose for like ever.

    • It’s like it turn 2016 ad went crazy on me. It is being a wild, fun ride! 😀 I also feel better with exercise. I think my yoga classes (my *must* exercise) have really kept me sane through this all.

  3. well done on book and book signing – balls are allowed to drop sometimes you know – unless of course you are a circus performer:) keep smiling

    • Thank you! I’m definitely all smiles (at the moment and probably for the rest of the week). I keep trying to convince myself it is okay to let some things drop, but more and more it looks like I’m holding less balls than are on the floor. I’ll figure it out, though! 😀

  4. Congratulations on your book release! 🙂

  5. Congratulations on the release of UNMASKING. I jumped over to Amazon, and the book looks like a fascinating read . . . You should have some reviews up pretty fast! And congratulations on completing that first signing. I admire your tenacity in marketing and wish you well. Marketing is so darn hard! Maybe that’s what I feel like I’m succeeding at but really failing because I seem to mis-identify the next ‘best’ step. Have a great week. You are NOT failing!!!!

    • Thank you! Lots of people have been telling me they really enjoyed it. (Now to hope some type those up!) I’m thrilled!

      To be honest, I have no clue what I’m doing in marketing. I mean, I’ve read stuff. I have theories. Do I know what I’m doing? NOPE! I fumble about and find my way. I keep trying. I think the only mistake is standing still (well, that and being rude). So, chin up! One day, you’ll master this! (Me too!)

Leave a Reply

