An Unexpected Journey ~ Coming Soon UNMASKING: LEMON’S THESIS

Under the cover of this book... (2).pngLong time visitors of the blog know I have picked the traditional publishing path for myself.  I sell stories, query agents, and so forth.  In other words, I haven’t self-published or had the inclination to.

My choice isn’t because I look down on self-publishing.  It was because I know self-publishing is a whole lot of work!  You either have to be the complete package to produce a book (cover artist to king-hella-$#!+-kicker editor) or you have to believe so much in your project that you’ll invest in it.  I’m not the complete package and I have self-esteem issues, so that’s never been me.

Still isn’t.  However, I found a third reason to self-publish that I didn’t even consider before.  But first, story time!  Gather round.  Form a semi-circle.  Sit however is comfy.  Billy, stop poking Ann.

Once upon a time, more specifically in the fall of 2015, I wrote a novella.  This was an idea I had been kicking around for a year, but over summer it solidified for me.  (Reading comics and watching ONCE UPON A TIME over summer really helped.)

Novellas are a weird creature and few accept them.  There are places and as I wrote it I had a home in mind for this one.  After Thanksgiving, but before Christmas, I sent it in and early January it was accepted.

I wish this was where I said, “And it published happily ever after” or “The End!”  It isn’t.  Things didn’t go smoothly.  As I worked through the bumps, I came to realize I had a very solid vision for this novella.  Any thing less than what was in my mind?  Well, that was just going to kill my creative little soul (or send it to the soul hospital for an extended stay).  This novella had to be a certain way.  My way.

Things progressed and the publisher and I amicably agreed to part ways on this project.  With some liquor in me for courage, I made the excellent choice of hiring Teresa Conner.  She did editing, layout, and cover design for me (because if I had stopped at editing, I could have chickened out).  Teresa let me have my way when it was right and reined me in when I was asking for something stupid (don’t ask about my original cover I pitch).  Any questions I had, she answered them quickly, sweetly, and professionally.  She was fast, efficient, and made me feel like my work was worth taking this route with.

I am just a few (but take a while) steps from releasing my creation upon the world!

Moral of the story Reason number three for self-publishing:
Because no one will do it like you would and how you would is the only way to do it.

So what is UNMASKING: LEMON’S THESIS about?  When is it coming out?  Sign up for my newsletter to find out.  I’ll be announcing that Tuesday.

What do you think of the cover?
Do you watch ONCE UPON A TIME?  Favorite character?
What would make you veer from your writing path?

 

Categories: 2016 5a, Look, Yay! | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “An Unexpected Journey ~ Coming Soon UNMASKING: LEMON’S THESIS

  1. That is a cool cover. I like it. I have watched Once Upon a Time, not much this season. I’m not a fan of the Black Swan story line. My favorite character is Hook, pirates are awesome. Good luck with your new publishing venture.

    • I am soooooo happy with my cover. It is a part of that vision that meant so much to me. Captain Guyliner is in my top five for sure. And by that line you can probably guess one of my top three. 😉 Thank you!

Leave a Reply

