Comic Review: Radioactive Spider-Gwen #1-3

Comic Theme (5)I sort of thought yesterday (Wednesday) was Thursday for most the day, so I didn’t post.  My bad!

I’m still talking web-slingers and it still isn’t Peter Parker! This time we go to an alternate universe, which has seemed to survive Secret Wars. Peter and Gwen Stacy switch places in this verse. And that’s not the only change…

Blurb (of #1 from goodreads):
SPIDER-GWEN SPINS INTO HER OWN SERIES! BECAUSE YOU DEMANDED IT! The breakout hit of the biggest Spider-Event of the century is taking comic shops by storm this winter with her own new ongoing series – SPIDER-GWEN! Gwen Stacy is Spider-Woman, but you knew that already. What you DON’T know is what friends and foes are waiting for her in the aftermath of Spider-Verse! From the fan-favorite creative team that brought you Spider-Gwen’s origin story in EDGE OF SPIDER-VERSE, Jason Latour and Robbie Rodriguez!

Why I picked it up:
SPIDER-GWEN had a short run series, which was compiled into SPIDER-GWEN VOL 0: MOST WANTED? When my daughter went to pick up SILK #1, I looked for the #1 of that. Sadly, they were out. So, when a new #1 came out I jumped on board, because everyone was raving about it.

The Art: 6

Robbi Rodriguez does really solid art. And I would have given this a 4 because there was nothing special otherwise about it.   However, there is something special about SPIDER-GWEN’s art, but that’s in the covers. The covers have a real different look and feel to them. They are almost like a borealis of color. I just really dig them.

The Story: 5_1

If I hadn’t picked up issue #0, I’d be a little lost. Though, when they chose to do #0’s back story in the style of “in previous issues” I was lost for a moment or two (until I figured out that’s what they were doing).

Suffice it to say, the story they are telling is a good one. Spider-Gwen is wanted for the death of Peter Parker, but instead of hiding she is trying to make the city safe. Now fold into this that this isn’t the Marvel world we know. A certain blind lawyer works for a certain crime lord. Captain America is not Steve Rogers. Little twists.

Thing is, sometimes the twists leave me a little lost. Not, can’t continue on in the series lost, but I feel I missed a nuance. I feel like I would understand them better if I knew Marvel better. And that’s why it lost a rating’s mark.

The Intangible Stuff: 6

I’m always excited when this is in my pull. It is the first (if not second) comic I read. The fact I get that excited about new issues says a lot.

7

I got Vol 0 for my birthday!  Will I finish it in time to review for my next newsletter?  I HAVE NO CLUE!!!! LOL

Categories: 2016 5a, Hobbies, Reading | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

