Comic Review: SILK #1-7 (Secret Wars)

Comic Theme (4).pngSorry this is a day late.  Yesterday I was celebrating my 35th birthday with my awesome new hair!  

Slinging webs and swinging through New York it isn’t Peter Parker, but Cindy Moon! This Korean-American superherione got her own Secret Wars run, which has been collected into a single volume, SILK VOL. 0: THE LIFE AND TIMES OF CINDY MOON.

Blurb (from goodreads):
Cindy Moon exploded out of her bunker and into the Marvel Universe when we first learned that she had been bitten by the same radioactive spider from the first arc of AMAZING SPIDER-MAN. She then went on to save Peter Parker’s life (more than once!) and traverse the Spider-Verse alongside Spider-Woman. Now, as SILK, Cindy is on her own in New York City, searching for her past, defining her own future, and webbing up wrong-doers along the way! Robbie Thompson (writer from TV’s SUPERNATURAL) fills this new story with his unique blend of antics and feels. Featuring interiors by future superstar Stacey Lee.

Why I picked it up:
I didn’t. This is actually my daughter’s comic. I just read them, too.

The Art: 5_1

Stacey Lee does beautiful art. I feel the slight anime influence fits it since the main character is Korean-American. And it wasn’t until I got to issue 7 that I realized how much that look meant to the story.

In #7, Tana Ford took over the art and almost killed my enjoyment for the series. Her art almost made the last issue unreadable.   The art was more than disappointing, it was somewhat dizzying as perspective was off and no lines felt solid.   It made me fear for SILK post-Secret Wars. It just wasn’t up to the task.   (I think Emma Vieceli spoiled me when she took over for Sophie Campbell’s JEM AND THE HOLOGRAMS art and matched it so perfectly.)

The Story: 6

Robbie Thompson writes an amazing story. Cindy was locked in a bunker for years and when she comes out has no clue what happened to her family. Not only is she searching for them, but she’s coping with all the changes in the world and suddenly being part of society again. He shows this beautifully.

It was the great story telling that got me through #7. As much as I wanted to stop looking at it, I had to keep reading. I needed that conclusion. And it was soooooo worth it. Thompson had me so annoyed that there was a break between Secret Wars and the new #1!

The Intangible Stuff: 6

As I said, this is my daughter’s comic. However, it isn’t just me that reads it. My husband really enjoys it too. To have all of us excited over the same comic, it just shows its vast appeal.

7

Sign up for my newsletter and find out my thoughts on SILK’s current run, now that Secret Wars is over.

 

Categories: 2016 4a, Reading, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

