Comic Review: The Wicked & the Divine #1

Comic Theme (3)Don’t be a disbeliever.  Sneak out and get yourself ready, because the Gods are putting on a concert.  While I normally cover various issues, this will be my first ever review of an issue #1. So, let’s see how this goes.

Blurb (from goodreads)
Every ninety years, twelve gods incarnate as humans. They are loved. They are hated. In two years, they are dead. The team behind critically thermonuclear floor-fillers Young Avengers and PHONOGRAM reunite to start a new ongoing superhero fantasy with a beautiful oversized issue. Welcome to THE WICKED + THE DIVINE, where gods are the ultimate pop stars. But remember: just because you’re immortal, doesn’t mean you’re going to live forever.

Why I picked it up
This was on the $1 comics table.  I had heard people raving about it, so I figured why not test it out?

Warning: For mature audiences.  Contains sex (references) and violence.  They call them pop stars in the blurb, but they are more inline with rock ideals.

The Art 6

Jamie McKelvie’s art is clean and polished.  There are tiny details when it matters and simple lines to keep things from getting over complicated at other times.  Though I think the colorist, Matt Wilson, is responsible for making it shine.  The pallet and coloring effects (like for glows, exploding heads, and transitioning hair dye) just really cement the look.

The Story 6

Kieron Gillen starts the story by ending another.  It’s a bit of foreshadowing, letting the reader know that there’s an end to this tale and here’s a whisper of it. So for brief period the story is in 1923, but then it comes to modern, now-ish (2014).  And it feels like now and we see a goddess from afar and then meet Lucifer.  Lucifer evoked a “love ya, but I wouldn’t be able to deal with you in real life” feel from me at the very start.  And since I emotionally invested, the ending… Not spoilering.  Go spend a dollar and read it!

The Intangible Stuff 5_1

Do I want more? YES!  Am I willing to overlook that leaning tower of comics I am growing?  No.  Is this on my “must buy as soon as I read all that” list?  Yes!

7

Like my comic review?  I do a bonus one in my newsletters.  Sign up and don’t miss a thing!

Categories: 2016 4a, Reading | Tags: , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

