Comic Review: DC’s Bombshells #1-3

A quick apology. I meant to share this yesterday, but snow day distractions! Today is another snow day, but I have it more under control this time around.

Comic Theme (1)Ration the green dye and get Rosie riveting! DC is setting an alternate universe back in World War II and it isn’t the superheroes on the front lines, but the superheroines! The first arc of DC’s BOMBSHELLS lasted issues #1-3 and was called, “Enlistment.” Funny enough, the trade paper back (due out in March) goes by the same name, but that collects issues #1-6.

Blurb (slightly edited from goodreads)
[L]earn the story behind this alternate reality where the Second World War is fought by superpowered women on the front lines and behind the scenes! It all begins with the stories of Batwoman, Wonder Woman and Supergirl.

Why I picked it up:
I was looking for titles to beef up my pull list with and I saw the announcement for the series.   When I read that it was set in WWII era with a pinup art feel I was freaking sold. I was also sold because I didn’t have to have any real background to enjoy the series either. They were building it from the ground up!

Warning: There are lesbians. So if this kind of lifestyle upsets you, don’t read it. And in issue #1 there was a very sexually aggressive/lewd comment made that almost stopped me from sharing it with my daughter. Also, full of (era appropriate) sexism.

The Art 6

Marguerite Sauvage did her homework. With a pinup aesthetic and (no doubt) historical referencing for all the looks, this feels like a Hollywood blockbuster war movie in your hands.   You know it isn’t necessarily 100% accurate, but it is done so right you feel you’re there.

The Story 6

Marguerite Bennet is in charge of the story. Or should I say stories? Because the Bombshells don’t start off together as an already neatly formed team.   These are their origin stories and the stories of those around them. (*coughBruceWaynecough*) As the blurb says, you get how Batwoman, Wonder Woman, and Supergirl end up on the front lines of the war. Not mentioned are Mera, Constantine, Zatanna, and lots of supporting cast worth mentioning! They take part too.

The thing most amazing about the story is how each issue almost feels like three in one. Since they are carrying so many separate stories you’d think it would suffer (spoiler: it doesn’t). While, as the series goes on, not all the characters are in every issue because the cast is that big (and still growing).  Story seems to be key and each story presented is well thought out. There’s always just enough to move the story forward, but not enough to resolve it entirely.

The Intangible Stuff 6

Remember how I said not knowing anything wasn’t a detriment? However, knowing stuff about the DC universe pays off too. I don’t know Mera’s back story, but I do know enough about Wonder Woman’s to go, “Oh, I see what you did there!” And those moments are pure geek gold!

WebRating (2).png

Sign up for my newsletter and find out my thoughts on #4-6 (the other issues contained in the trade paper back).

Categories: 2016 Week 3a, Hobbies, Reading | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

