A Round of Words in 80 Days (#ROW80) Round 1 2016 Goals

Pinterest Blog Writing BannersI either need to become The Flash or get hold of a  T.A.R.D.I.S. if I want to do everything I want to do.  Thankfully, I’m not as far gone as the Joker, so I’m not crazy enough to think I can actually accomplish taking over Gotham doing it all.

That said, my first three weeks of 2016 are packed with writing “To Do” stuff.  I’m test running more than I probably should.  I’m pretty sure by the end of the month there will be cut backs.  However, I’ve designed my goals to be able go with the flow.

This quarter, my theme is “Be an Awesome Writer.”  What this means to me is Write (and Edit), Read, and Be Out There (Social Media Presence and Submitting). With those ideas in mind, I made the following goals.

Pre-Write, Draft, Edit, and Submit B2 – Deadline 1/20
B2 is a short story, somewhat sequel, for an anthology I was invited to submit to.  The deadline is firm (set by publisher).

Draft 3 of ALCHEMY 50% Done – Deadline End of Round
Originally, I wanted to do the entire thing.  Since I lack super powers or a time traveling police box, I decided half was definitely doable.

Take Next Step With YELLOW – No Deadline
I have yet to hear back about this.  If it is accepted, this means scheduling edits.  If it is rejected, it means moving forward with further submissions or considering other options.

Main Book: Read 100 Pages – per Week
I read more than one book at a time.  I have one I consider my main.  I’ll be reading 100 pages of it every week.

Finish A HEARTLESS DESIGN by Elizabeth ColeDeadline End of Round
I’m half done the ebook (a secondary read), might as well finish it.

Read Comics + 1 Chapter of a Graphic Novel/tpb – Per Week
I don’t want to fall behind on my pull list (or the ones I steal from my husband).  Plus, my tpb/graphic novel stack is growing, so I need to chip at it.

60 Queries – Deadline End of Round
I’m saying queries, but short story submissions count too.  I just need to keep getting my stuff out there.

Refine and Follow Social Media Use – Deadline End of Round
I say social media, but I also mean blog and newsletter use.  This may be where I’ve bitten off more than I can chew, which is why I’m going with refining as well as following.

Be a good ROW80 Sponsor – Deadline End of Round
I signed up to do it and I want to do it right.  I need to write my post and visit regularly (the second one will be the hardest).

And for the sake of accountability: Stick to Eating Right – Daily, Run/Walk 21 miles – per Week, and Attend Yoga – Mondays & Wednesdays.

A Quick Note: This year, I skipped New Year’s resolutions.  I’m just renewing my commitment to my health and writing efforts.

Which goal/resolution is going to be your trickiest?
If you could have one geek thing (super power/item/other) to help you achieve your goals/resolution, what would it be and why?
What makes an awesome author in your opinion?

Categories: 2016 Week 1a, ROW80 | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Round of Words in 80 Days (#ROW80) Round 1 2016 Goals

  1. Hmmm. My trickiest is preparing to self-publish. Scares the crap out of me 🙂 One geek thing to help me. Easy- the ability to write a clean copy without the need for an editer…. I mean editor. That would save me loads. What makes an awesome author? Personality. Good luck with your goals.

    • Self-pubbing scares me so much I’m not doing it (at this point… there’s something tempting me to change that). I think we all want the clean copy super power… By all I mean writers that don’t have that, LOL. Don’t see how clean copy would help clowns. 😉 Ooooooo… Personality. Yeah. Lots of the best ones have that, no? So hard to get that across/do it right.

      Thank you and best wishes for all your hopes and goals this round and year!

  2. Well, I think it might be fun to at least *try* taking over Gotham … 😀

    Good luck with your goals and have a great 2016!

    • Thank you! Having just gotten a hamster who I named Gotham, I got terribly confused. LOL! I’m not sure about fun, regarding trying. Because, I never counted getting my kicked as fun. 😉 Batman (and the rest of them) always win!!!

Leave a Reply

