A Round of Words in 80 Days Round 4 Final Check-In

Pinterest Blog Writing BannersHow did I do with my goals?

High Priority Goals
YELLOW I’m still waiting to hear if this has been accepted.
Rough Draft by Oct 21 – DONE Oct 14
Outline #2 by Oct 28 – DONE Oct 27
Pre-Writing Packet #2 by Nov 4 – DONE Nov 7
Read and Take Edit Notes by Nov 18 – DONE Nov 11
Draft 2 by Nov 25 – DONE Nov 21
Read and Take Edit Notes by Dec 2 – Draft 2 was all I needed
Draft 3 by Dec 9 – Draft 2 was all I needed
Polish by Dec 16 – 12/4
With Publisher by Dec 23 – 12/4

ALCHEMY I’m happy to have draft 2 done.  However, need a draft 3 before I share it with anyone.
Finish World Building Hole Filling by Oct 7 [Done 10/5]
Finish Draft 2 by Nov 11 DONE 11/6

Query GRANDMA -Finished building the list and hit my goal of number sent.  However, I haven’t finished sending it out. As many agencies are closed for the holidays I’m putting this on hold until 2016.
Sort Through 45 Pages of Agent List by Dec 9 – DONE 12/9
Send 60 Queries by Dec 23 –  DONE 12/14
[45/45 Pages] * [60/60 Queries]

Mid Level Priority Goals
Reading -My lack of ZOMBIE MOON progress has me thinking.  I might make a reading change in the new year.  However, I read lots of comics.  Those count!
Finish ZOMBIE MOON by Dec 23 -Nope
Get Up To Date On RAT QUEENS by Dec 23 [Vol 1 DONE 10/5 ~ Vol 2 & issues 11 -13 + Braga Special DONE Oct 24]
Reach 50% on ebook HEARTLESS BY DESIGN by Dec 23 [53% Oct 27]

Exercise –Never missed a yoga class (only missed doing it if class was canceled). When we had snow, I got lazy about after lunch walking.  The 3-5 miles not so much in the second half of December.  But, I’d give myself a B for the whole round.
Monday & Wednesday – Yoga + 1 mile
Thursday through Saturday – 3 to 5 mile Run
After Lunch 2 mile Walk (at least) 5 Days/Week

Low Priority
WIPpet Wednesdays -I missed Dec 2nd by accident. Then I started thinking about the future, once the newsletter was launched… New comics release on Wednesdays and I’ll be talking about that then, so I’m sadly not going to be a part of this for the foreseeable future.
Oct 7 – DONE
Nov 4 –DONE
Dec 2 -Nope

Visit Writer Community Members -Started off great, slipped, then was steady… until week 7.  Then I was craptastic.
Minimum 4 (ideally 7)/Week

EXTRA
Comics Read: AVENGERS #0 | JEM OUTRAGEOUS ANNUAL | BATMAN BEYOND #5 & #6 | WE STAND ON GUARD #1 | SPACE RIDERS #1 | JEM #8 & #9 | PAPER GIRLS #1, #2, & #3 | A-FORCE #5 | TOKYO GHOST #1 & #2 | BOMBSHELLS #3, #4, #5, & #6 | SAGA volume 1 | RADIOACTIVE SPIDER GWEN #0, #1, #2, & #3 | NEW AVENGERS #1, #2, & #3 | LUMBERJANES volume 1 & Beyond Bay Leaf | DOCTOR STRANGE #1 & #2 | EXTRAORDINARY XMEN #1, #2 &#3 | KITARO #1 | ARCHIE HORROR: SABRINA #1 | ALL NEW WOLVERINE #1 & #2 | ALL NEW, ALL DIFFERENT AVENGERS #1 & #2 | THE SPIRIT #1 | THOR #1 | RAT QUEENS #13 | DOCTOR STRANGE THE OATH #1 | HARLEY QUINN #1 | X’ED #1 | HEAD LOPPER #1 & #2 | THE STEAM MAN #1 & #2 | BLACK MAGICK #1 & #2 | BITCH PLANET #1 | THE WICKED AND THE DIVINE #1 | MS MARVEL #1 | GWENPOOL HOLIDAY SPECIAL #1 | KLAUS #1 & #2 | EAST OF WEST #1 | MONSTERESS #1 & #2 | STAR WARS FREE PREVIEWS | JEM OUTRAGEOUS ANNUAL – And I think I missed some.

Five Six Eight Webinars: Two Email Marketing, Webinar How To, Marketing Funnel, Pinterest as Marketing, Blogging for Business. Bettering Your Blog for 2016, & 10 Ways to Publish a Kindle Series Fast. -Some were worth it.  Others not.  However, the refined look of the website and the newsletter’s birth were due to it all.  

HAMSTER: Wrote Draft 3 ~ Polished ~ Wrote Synopsis ~ Wrote Query -I finished YELLOW early and used the extra time to tackle this project. After I’m done sending GRANDMA out, this one will be next.

Newsletter Prep: Website Cleaned Up ~ Lead Magnet Made ~ Blog Post Labels Made ~ Welcome Newsletter Created/Tested ~ Newsletter Style Set ~ Launched! -This was the most unexpected addition to my goals.  Oh course, those unexpected webinars were the catalyst.  Amazing how one thing can lead to another.  (And since I have you here… Consider signing up?)

Well, it is Christmas Eve for me and I have to clean, bake, and organize for tonight before I go to Amish country to celebrate with family (not Amish, just like quiet country).  The plan between rounds is to take it easy-ish.  I’ll be crafting with the kids, sleeping in, and watching movies with the family to finish out the year.  Not that I’ll be doing no writer stuff.  I’m working on new promotion techniques that I have to get used to.  I still need to make my next batch of goals and 13 week plan too.

How are you going to spend the holiday?
How are you going to finish out your year?
How did your quarterly goals go?

Categories: 2015 Week 1, ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “A Round of Words in 80 Days Round 4 Final Check-In

  1. Sounds like 2015 was a productive year. Congrats! As for me, I’m hoping to have a festive but quiet holiday season filled with hot cocoa and cookies. Have a great holiday season! 🙂

    • That cocoa and cookies sounds awesome! 🙂 You know, past couple years I would have said, “No. Not really.” Not that I was being modest. It’s just I felt at that time “I could do more!” This year, for the first time in a long time, I feel like I accomplished a lot. I own it and am proud of it. It’s like an expect present I am giving myself! 🙂

      Wishing you the best for the end of 2015/start of 2016!

  2. Congrats on all those goals accomplished. I’m impressed with those deadlines. Nicely specific! And I’m also impressed by your ability to balance more than one writing project — way more. Fine tuning all the way. Have a glorious 2016, hot chocolate and cookies to start the new year right. And I hope you do keep talking about those new marketing strategies . . . an area i constantly struggle with.

    • I’ll most definitely talk about my marketing once I have more tried/tested material, Right now it is all theory and experimenting. It is a struggling point for me as well, which is why I am trying so darn hard. I can only hope for success!

      It only loos impressive. It is just well planned & good follow through. Plus, those deadlines were actually somewhat vague. I had “by week’s end” periods I wanted to get stuff done, that’s why I sometimes beat the dates. I’m working on my next set. However, there’s an outstanding, possible project that can make it all go wonky. So, I’m nervous to commit just yet.

  3. I’m also impressed by all you have accomplished. you are much better at multitasking than I am, or I’m easily distracted. I can’t wait to hear how the webinar info turns out. Where do I get the cookies and coca? It’s a bit warm for coca.

    • They’re right here. Yours is frozen hot cocoa (it’s a thing in New York in summer, I hear). Take them and have a seat.

      Trust me, once I know how this webinar stuff works out, I’ll be sharing with my favorite writer buds. (Yes, you’re on the list. You are awesome, Caren!) Then, later with my blog readers (because then I’ll have more data on results, which will be more helpful than one account results).

      But the goals… To be honest, it isn’t so much multi-tasking as it is good scheduling.

Leave a Reply

