Two More Goal Types: Concept and Habit

Yesterday morning, my husky got out of my yard and went missing.  She was found and returned to us, thankfully.  My morning was filled with panic, relief, and exhaustion from all the emotional stress.  So, I kind of forgot to post this.  Sorry it is a day late.

Last Wednesday I posted about how I work out my measurable goals.  And that got me to thinking about how I set up quarterly goals (which I use in my current 13 week plan and in my ROW80 participation).  And while measurable goals are a good part of it, there are two other goal types that make up the team.

I’m going to talk Habit Goals first, because I need them to explain Concept Goals. Plus, they are pretty quick to explain.  These are the goals you want to do as a habit.  Be they scheduled (Run 3+ Miles Thursday, Friday, and Saturday) or a quota (Visit and Comment On 4 Blogs Every Week or Walk 5 Days a Week).  This isn’t a one and done goal (with a deadline/finish line), but a habit I want to form or an on going activity I don’t wish to neglect.

Concept Goals are the the kind of goals most people come up with when they go to set a goal in the first place.  I’m talking “Read More,” “Be a Better Writer,” or “Lose Weight.”  I like to think of these as a theme for other deadline/ finish line measurable or habit goals to fall under.

Let’s take “Read More” as an example.  Let’s start with finishing a book with a deadline measurable goal.  The book is 400 pages, I want to read it in one month (4 weeks).  I’ll need to read 100 pages a week or 14.2 a day.  But, I usually do my goals in quarters, right?  So let’s do that for 3 books this make-believe quarter (that’s a quota style habit goal of 1 book a month).  However, I think I can read even more than that!  So, let’s add in a couple more habit goals.  Read 1 short story a week from any online publication and let’s read a poem a day, too!

See how I made an abstract more concrete and track-able?  And when I deal with goals keeping track is the most important part.

Anyways, now that I’ve covered my goal types, I can totally talk to you guys about how I set Quarterly Goals.  Not making promises, but we’ll see if that gets up there next week.

Do you like your goals track-able or not?  Why?
Is there a goal type you think I missed?

Categories: Experience | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

