Scattered But Good – #ROW80 Check-In

littleROW80I always like to say stuff about my week before getting into goals.  Today I’ve been really scattered, so this bit is going to be a mess.

I guess, the first thing that comes to mind is that it hasn’t been an easy week.  There’s some life stuff (being a mom isn’t always easy) and some writing stuff (like the day I just stared at my computer and did nothing for three hours).  It has made anxiety a big issue this week.

Not helping the anxiety is YELLOW.  I need it a specific “size” and I’m thinking I’ll fall short (zero clue where to add).  Not to mention it might not even be accepted where (publisher) I want to put it.

Friday we played ZOMBIE DICE for a quick (“Oh crap, we meant to start this this week?”) Family Game Night.  Fun was had.  The best part of my week? I’m super happy my town, not to mention my county, finally got a comic shop!  I have the JEM OUTRAGEOUS ANNUAL and AVENGERS #0 on my reading pile waiting… Because writing first.

So, goals!  So I can write.  So I can comic after!

YELLOW
Rough Draft by Oct 21 I’m mostly on target.  I’m 500 behind where I want to be. (Will try to catch up today.)  Hoping I don’t fall too short. Got 3 beta readers lined up.

ALCHEMY
Finish World Building Hole Filling by Oct 7 [Done 10/5]
Finish Draft 2 by Nov 11 46% done and on schedule (as long I do today’s task).

Query GRANDMA
Not scheduled to work on yet.

Reading
Finish ZOMBIE MOON by Dec 23 Read 1 chapter, so progress!
Get Up To Date On RAT QUEENS by Dec 23 [Vol 1 DONE 10/5] Need to start Volume 2.
Reach 50% on ebook HEARTLESS BY DESIGN by Dec 23 Didn’t touch.

Exercise
Monday & Wednesday – Yoga + 1 mile Ran to yoga (.5 mi), did yoga, and walked back (.5 mi) both days.
Thursday through Saturday – 3 to 5 mile Run Thursday ran 3.33 miles, Friday since I had to drive to my son’s school only 1 mile, and Saturday had a lot to do, so cut it short 1.25 mi.
After Lunch 2 mile Walk (at least) 5 Days/Week  5/5

WIPpet Wednesdays
Oct 7 – DONE

Visit Writer Community Members
Minimum 4 (ideally 7)/Week  8/4 – Some repeat visits and mostly off my subscribed list, but visited!

This Week: I’ll be visiting back WIPpeteers for visits first and foremost.  I should finishing YELLOW’s rough (really hoping it is not too short), sending it to my Betas, updating the outline, and plotting the follow up.  There’s no yoga Wednesday, but there’s also no school Friday, so I’ll be shifting Friday’s run to Wednesday, and if I’ll figure out Friday later.  ALCHEMY should be 58% edited by next check-in.

Is your WIP worrying you?
Any hiccups in your schedule?
How was your week?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Scattered But Good – #ROW80 Check-In

  1. My WIP is always worrying me. There’s never enough time and something always gets in the way when it looks like I will actually accomplish something. Just keep working, just keep working.

    • Nice to know it isn’t just me! I keep telling myself, “I can’t fix it until I finish it.” So, I fret for a bit then put on my big girl pants and get to work. 😉

  2. Wow, sounds like you’re doing great even being behind by 500 words. I know I said something before but I can’t help but smile when I see your banner, I just love it!

    I enjoy walking but I don’t run, not unless someone is chasing me and maybe not even then. 😀

    Looking forward to seeing your check in on Wednesday. Wishing you a productive week and your words flowing onto the page!

    • I have to admit it, I am doing well. (Scared me to admit that, as it feels unhumble or inviting disaster.) I hoe things continue to go well. Thanks for the banner love. I appreciate it each time. 🙂

      I’m an accidental runner. Started because walking had become too easy. Not great at it, but I like to use it when I can. (Plus zombie apocalypse practice!)

      I skip Wednesday check-ins because Sunday and Tuesday are my write light days and I don’t get much done. Though, I will be posting about my writing binder this week then… If all goes to plan. I’ll see you around, Morgan!

  3. Yeah, I need to exercise more. And when I say more, I mean “at all”. 🙂 You’re doing phenomenal!

    • I started getting “healthier” a year ago next month. That’s when I kind of hit a rock bottom and tried my “last resort.” It is actually working out for me. Not in a “healthy” place yet, but I’m still working at it.

      By healthy I mean medical definition of good weights and good habits. It isn’t about appearance, but surviving the zombie apocalypse. 😉

  4. Gloria,
    I need to exercise more, too. I’ve started walking more than I used to do, but still have quite a ways to go.

    I’ve also fallen off the WIPpet Wednesdays, too. That makes me sad, but I have no words to share. I need to work on that!

    I agree with Esme–you’re doing a phenomenal job!

    • Thank you, Elizabeth!

      I’m trying to do a manageable amount of exercise, where I don’t feel like I am losing too much of my day. Thankfully, I convinced myself that the after lunch walk isn’t for me, but the dogs. That way I slip that in. 😉

      I always have projects going, so I don’t lack substance to share. I, sadly, lack time to be a good community member. I don’t want to take part and then not visit others. I hope you get on the bandwagon once more when you get the words.

Leave a Reply

