#WIPpet Wednesday: The Sky

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 10/11/15.  So, let’s make those all single numbers. 1, 0, 1, 1, 1, 5.  And let’s take the mode for how many paragraphs (that’s 1).

What’s My WIPpet?
This work is code named YELLOW.  It is a superhero soap opera (think AVENGERS meets ONCE UPON A TIME). This is my opening paragraph set 50 years ago (I might need to adjust that timing, though to 60).

This Week’s WIPpet
The sky was what woke Helen Lightner that night. She peeled her sister, Wendy, off her arm and stuck her head out the window seeking some cool midnight air and a better look. The sky looked like the puddles by the garage after her daddy worked on the tractor.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: The Sky

  1. That puddles line is great. It gives a certain feel to the night. That oily blackness, somewhat disgusting but not terribly ominous. Wonderful image.

  2. I love the way you described your WIP–a combo of Avengers meets Once Upon a Time. It sounds like so much fun.

    Thanks for the WIPpet. I’m wondering what’s lurking out there in the darkness, what’s going to happen to disturb what so far seems like a calm night.

  3. Do you know that you time traveled to the weekend?! I think Wednesday last was the 7th, since it’s now Thursday the 8th….

    Wibbly wobbly, timey wimey….

    Anyway…..

    I LOVED the snippet. The sky is vivid in my mind, and so is the sister-peeling.

    • I totally failed at reading a calendar!!! LOL (y_-)

      Yay! Glad you loved it. 🙂 I used to sleep in Puerto Rico and share a bed with my grandmother as a child. I woke up to her complaining about having to peel me off. Hehe!

  4. Hi Gloria, first I want to say I absolutely love your web and star banner across the top of your blog! Second, that was a very cute paragraph that I could visually see through your eyes. Well done!

    • Thank you! Drew them myself in Manga Studio. It’s a tie-in to my last name (Web – er). Originally it was purple, but I found it clashed too much with the theme (don’t have a premium, can change such things account). So, I turned it brown.

      It is always awesome to hear that the scene has come to life. Thank you so much. 🙂

  5. Certainly interesting. I am definitely curious to see what more come of this Avengers meets Once upon a Time…

    And if we are getting Wibbley Wobbley…then Allons-Y into the weekend!! 🙂

    • It kind of is an experiment that I feel so far is working, but need to be finished and read it as a whole to be certain. Plus, had to do something with all the comic reading and OUAT binge watching I did this summer. 😉

      As long as it is safe to blink this weekend, I’m all good. 😉

Leave a Reply

