#ROW80 Round 4 Goals

littleROW80Between ROWnds, I found a journal/goal thing.  I have been adapting it for my own use.  (I’ll discuss this more in a post… eventually.  Still working out the kinks/adapting.)  Of course, I made it all about writing goals.  My end date for my current use is December 23rd.  That’s one day before the official end of this ROWnd.  So, there will be overlap between this and that for me (see High Priority Goals).

I just want to remind that priorities in goals ins’t based on “importance,” but what I want/aim to do first in a day/week. Time is a limited resource and everything can’t always be done.

High Priority Goals
YELLOW  – This is (what I hope is) the first part of a superhero soap opera. Light novel/novella length.
Rough Draft by Oct 21 | Outline #2 by Oct 28 | Pre-Writing Packet #2 by Nov 4 | Read and Take Edit Notes by Nov 18 | Draft 2 by Nov 25 | Read and Take Edit Notes by Dec 2 | Draft 3 by Dec 9 | Polish by Dec 16 | With Publisher by Dec 23

ALCHEMY – My fantasy cozy mystery, which I started this year. At this point I’m 35% into draft 2 (original draft page 38). Full length novel.
Finish World Building Hole Filling by Oct 7 | Finish Draft 2 by Nov 11

Query GRANDMA – I am building a list and sending out queries for this finished piece.
Sort Through 45 Pages of Agent List by Dec 9 | Send 60 Queries by Dec 23

Mid Level Priority Goals
Reading – I’m going easy on this right now, because I have yet to figure out where reading fits in with new goals.
Finish ZOMBIE MOON by Dec 23 | Get Up To Date On RAT QUEENS by Dec 23 | Reach 50% on ebook HEARTLESS BY DESIGN by Dec 23

Exercise – This is just so I don’t neglect it.
Monday & Wednesday – Yoga + 1 mile | Thursday through Saturday – 3 to 5 mile Run | After Lunch 2 mile Walk (at least) 5 Days/Week

Low Priority
WIPpet Wednesdays – I will take part (at the very least) on the following dates.
Oct 7 | Nov 4 | Dec 2

Visit Writer Community Members – This means WIPpeteers and/or ROWers.
Minimum 4 (ideally 7)/Week

And we’ll stop there.  I have done bonus goals before, but I rather just focus on stuff I get done in addition to all that.

Do you prioritize goals?
Any big projects this ROWnd?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “#ROW80 Round 4 Goals

  1. Those are pretty intense goals! good luck.

    • Thanks! I have everything scheduled by week until Dec 23rd. But I only have daily stuff scheduled through 11/11. Though, I think once I get to that point it should be slightly easier. (Of course, I could totally be wrong.)

      Are you ROWing this round?

  2. Awesome set of goals. I love fantasy and mysteries, so I’m excited to learn more about “Alchemy.”

    Good luck!

    • It feels like, at this rate, ALCHEMY won’t be ready for beta until 2017. And then there’s query/submitting it. So 2020 release? (<- Half joke, half fear… Possibly totally true)

      YELLOW will be ready much sooner. I have a home in mind for it! 🙂

  3. Great goals! Good luck with them!

  4. SO much goal (to my amateur eyes)! BTW, I LOVE your website design!

    I haven’t prioritized my goals, but I *have* printed them out and taped them to the wall right above my computer… where they stare at me and command me to get busy!

    Good luck and good writing!

    • I won’t lie. I’m a bit worried about executing them. But, I have a plan!!! Just have to work with it and all should be good.

      Great strategy putting them somewhere you can see. I think that helps keep accountability. My plan is in a composition book, which is always nearby. And my daily schedule/calendar is in the front (see-through) pocket of my my binder. Hope it helps you, like this helps me. 🙂

  5. Looks solid, Gloria.

    I am learning that I need to prioritize goals when I am doing a show. Now that I am shifting to a more writing-centric lifestyle. It’s been a learning experience this year. Been learning a lot more and enjoying getting you know alls y’all. 🙂 Hoping that this Round I can balance out the writing and theatre. Been doing less theatre over all, but I am walk the line with the two. Still I feel good about this Round.

    • Looks can be deceiving, so I hope you’re right! 😉 I spent years fighting with housework and writing. It was one or the other. Finally I have balance with those two. So, I think you’ll find where you want to be, it just might take lots of experimenting and trying. Best wishes this round!

  6. Lots of good goals! I’m very interested in your cozy mystery, Alchemy. I would love to read it!

Leave a Reply

