Getting Better – #ROW80 Check-In

littleROW80The good news is my mental state is more chill.  I am not going to say my nerves have entirely settled, because it feels like one wrong step/something going horribly wrong and I’ll be back where I was last week.  However, I’m at this point where I am no longer freaking out constantly and letting my thoughts wander doesn’t end with me in a panic.  If I can keep this up, I’ll be securely okay in not too long.

The bad news is, I did practically nothing for the past week.  Well, not nothing nothing.  As I stated last check-in, my husband’s birthday was this past week and he took time off.  I did my best to enjoy the time we had alone together and as a family.

One of our family activities this week. It has been years since we last went, so it was super fun!

One of our family activities this week. It has been years since we last went, so it was super fun!

Now, I did do a bit of writing stuff.  I finished entering one of my ideas into my idea book.  I have another to finish and a new one to add in too.  Then, I sent out materials for my cover reveal (that’s on July 31st, so there’s still time to join in).  And I finished the rough draft of a guest post for next month.

I’ve also been trying to figure out how I can get my missing two hours of writing time back.  I did try figuring out where it went, but I realized that wasn’t what matter.  Getting back some, if not all, of that time is the more important step.  And I do have a plan!  I think a combination of moving my run time and not letting my son dally (because his time use affects mine) will regain me some missing time.

So this week, I’ll be trying to recover my writing time.  What time I get will be spent on the second draft of PLANET.  Also, I’ll be doing my cover reveal.  I’m not putting more than that on my plate.

Do you have a museum you love to visit?
Ever been intimidated by a second draft?

ALICIAbanner

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Getting Better – #ROW80 Check-In

  1. It sounds like you are in a good place right now. You sound relaxed and at peace even if you are still missing time. We all lose “time” all the time it seems. Best wishes for a good week.

    • I am feeling better. Yes, lost time is definitely one of the great mysteries in life that always pops up. So far the week is going well!

  2. Living in Corning it is the Corning Museum of Glass. They opened a new contemporary art wing that was fun to explore over July 4th weekend.

    My NaNo scripts, especially the one I am working on edits for. I finally pushed past my fears and started my 1st main revision (I had to revise the revision process to make it more productive). I seem to be less intimidated by shorter scripts then the novel lengths. Getting better and each day is easier.

    Huzzahs to a grand week!!

    • A glass museum sounds neat! Never been to one of those. Will have to see if there’s anything like that here or anywhere I might travel.

      I think once you get started it is indeed easier. Usually, I build up the task to seem greater/harder than it actually is. And I’m still revising my editing process. Someone once told me you revise your process each time you write anything and I just keep hoping that’s a lie! Hehe… Please let it be a lie?

Leave a Reply

