#WIPpet Wednesday: Not a great place to build…

Mini Update
For this past month, I’ve been working on two WIPs: ALCHEMY and CONTEST ENTRY.  With ALCHEMY, I’ve been digging deeper into my world and working on a new draft chapter by chapter. As for CONTEST ENTRY, all that’s left there is for you to (pretty please) wish me luck.  That said… Today’s WIPpet is neither of these, for the sake of continuity.  I’ll be sharing from PLANET, which I shared from last month.  I also plan to work on and share from it in July and August.  So, it just didn’t make sense to change which WIP I shared from, just cause I didn’t work on it.  (I know I’m a horrible rule breaker!)

~ *~  * ~ * ~

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 6/24/15.  We’ll throw away the 6 and subtract 24 and 15.  That’s 9 sentences!

What’s My WIPpet?
This is a story about a girl born on a prison planet.  She was watching prisoners being dropped in pods from her window.  In this bit, I share a small bit of what her neighborhood is like.  (Warning: This is quite rough.  I’ve yet to make an edit pass on it.)

This Week’s WIPpet
I muttered, “Fine,” and turned to look out the window again. One of the streaks flew over head. Our apartment shook, like all the other ramshackle buildings made of the unwanted salvage which had become our Turf’s signature.

The look was on purpose. This land was just not good to inhabit. There were earthquakes, sink holes, and, maybe it was luck or by design, it was also where fifty percent of those pods seemed to land.

Off in the distance I saw building bits and dust kick up into the air. The power to our house flickered and was gone. It was because the darkness came that saw them.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: Uncategorized | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: Not a great place to build…

  1. That last sentence made me shiver. I wonder what she’s seeing that wouldn’t have been visible with the lights on.

  2. Down homey place you’ve set up here… makes me want to move right in and keep up with the Joneses.

    And what DID she see in the dark, we must wonder (yeah, yeah, I know… spoilers.)

    • There are better places to live that aren’t so shabby. She ends up in an entertainment turf later on (you know: gambling, drinking, prostitution, and so forth). But, I wanted to start very “humbly.”

      What’s in the dark? They owe a debt.

  3. Good luck!!

    What a ‘charming’ place it sounds like! I love the idea of pods and prisoners and things like that!

    • Thanks!

      This was a setting (and a group of characters) I’ve had on my back burner for a while. I tried to make a novel out of it, but always lacked a story with enough meat. But, I did have enough for a short story, and that’s what I’m working with right now. 🙂

  4. I’m actually really glad you’re sharing from this one again, because I am so intrigued by it! (Having said that, I’m so intrigued by all the stories you share, but I do have a particular love of sci-fi.) And now I can see everything so perfectly in my mind’s eye, thanks to your descriptions, I was super-disappointed when I came to the end–I really want to know what she’s seen! *whines*

    • I’m not sure what I’ll share next time I pop in, but I promise it will be from this piece. I’ll be editing this or next week, so I can’t be sure what will remain as is. Regardless, I’m glad you’re liking it. I don’t write much scifi, but I have a soft spot for it too (especially in anime form… MECHA!!!).

Leave a Reply

