What Books I’ve Been Reading…

I said in another blog post that I’d talk about comics I’ve been reading today.  I lied!  Actually, I thought I’d have a few graphic novels under my belt and I don’t.  On the bright side, I do have some books read that I have yet to cover.  So, let’s do that now.

QUEEN OF ROGUES
Blurb: Based on an idea from Adventure Time creator Pendleton Ward comes a series of epic fiction inspired by classic pulp adventure stories (with just a touch of romance novels) set in a fan-fiction version of Ooo and featuring original, off the wall stories staring the series most popular couples such as Jake & Lady Rainicorn and Fionna & Marshall Lee.

My Opinion: The official blurb doesn’t tell you enough.  The real summary should say something like: Fionna only wanted to go to a party thrown by the elusive P. Gumball.  Instead she ends up in a race to Island Guy in order to save the party guest from Ice Queen!  Will it be smooth sailing or will Marshall Lee cause some trouble?

My “Do I like it?” opinion is… I’m biased.  I know the person behind this book.  And I’m so proud to admit that!  My friend did an awesome job writing this and I feel it scratches that ADVENTURE TIME itch.  She also did the upcoming Marceline book, THE LONESOME OUTLAW, which comes out September 29, 2015.

4outof5

SIEGE (X-Men Mutant Empire #1)
Blurb: They live as outcasts, hated and feared by the very humanity they protect. They are mutants born with strange and wonderful powers that set them apart from the rest of the human race. Under the tutelage of Professor Charles Xavier, they are more than mutants. They are the X-Men.

My Opinion: I think today’s blurbs suck.  Better description is, the X-Men have double trouble on their hands!  Magneto is up to no good at the secret base where Project Wide Awake’s Sentinels are kept.  Across the stars, Lady Deathbird is going to execute Starjammers, Corsair and Hepzibah.  In order to save the day the X-Men split up.  Will half the team be enough to solve each problem?

I never read the comics.  But, I did watch the 90’s cartoon and collect those comic cards they made in the 90’s so I have a bit of basis that isn’t the movies.  With that background in mind, I felt they did a great job with the characters.  They even touched and filled me in on things I wasn’t aware of without bogging down the story.  And the story was comic book action packed.  I enjoyed it and plan to look for the rest of the series.

[When I transferred computers, I didn’t transfer my bar images.
I planned to redo them, so… Yeah.  I don’t have this one.]
5/5

MISS MOLLY ROBBINS DESIGNS A SEDUCTION
(Sydney Dovedale #4)

Blurb: Carver Danforthe, Earl of Everscham, has a reputation for being a wild rogue—not for indulging the ambitions of his sister’s maid.

But Molly Robbins’ unique dress designs have caught the eye of society’s elite, and if it means her own dress shop, Molly will make a deal with the devil himself—or his proxy, the notoriously naughty earl.

But becoming his mistress is not a part of their arrangement. It’s right there in the contract’s small print: No Tomfoolery. Until he proposes a scandalous new addendum to their contract…

My Opinion: I have only read book #2 and this book in this series.  Because I chose to skip #3 (I didn’t much care for the mains when they appeared in book #2) I felt I missed some of the finer, smaller points in this story.  (There’s a letter that appears out of nowhere near the end.)  However, it didn’t stop me from enjoying and understanding the story.  It was everything I want from a romance novel: characters you want together, characters that are better together than apart, and a well-deserved HEA.

4outof5

YUREI ATTACK!
Blurb: Surviving encounters with angry ghosts and sexy spectres. Haunted places. Dangerous games and how to play them. And more importantly, a guided tour of what awaits in the world of the dead.

Yurei is the Japanese word for “ghost.” It’s as simple as that. They are the souls of dead people, unable—unwilling—to shuffle off this mortal coil. Yurei are many things, but “friendly” isn’t the first word that comes to mind. Not every yurei is dangerous, but they are all driven by emotions so uncontrollably powerful that they have taken on a life of their own: rage, sadness, devotion, a desire for revenge, or even the firm belief that they are still alive.

This book, the third in the authors’ bestselling Attack! series, after Yokai Attack! and Ninja Attack! gives detailed information on 39 of the creepiest yurei stalking Japan, along with detailed histories and defensive tactics should you have the misfortune to encounter one.

Japanese ghosts include:
Oiwa, The Horror of Yotsuya
Otsuyu, The Tale of the Peony Lantern
The Lady Rokujo, The Tale of Genji
Isora, Tales of Moonlight and Rain
Orui, The Depths of Kasane

Together with Yokai Attack! and Ninja Attack!, Yurei Attack! is the last guidebook to Japan you’ll ever need.

My Opinion: I own all three books in the series.  Like the other two, this book doesn’t disappoint.  It give you the basics and a little more ghosts in Japanese culture.  It informs in a fun manner and is a book I’ll likely keep on my bookshelf for many years, picking up to look through often.

~ 5/5 ~

What have you been reading?

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “What Books I’ve Been Reading…

  1. I need to find Siege and read it, that sounds like fun. My girls would probably enjoy the first one, she squealed when she saw the cover! I’m currently reading ‘Spring Fever’ by Mary Kay Andrews.

    • SIEGE was indeed fun. They seem to be out of print, but all copies on Amazon seem to be selling rather cheaply. I got my copy at a library sale. I saw book 3 there, but not book 2, which is why I didn’t get 3 at the time. Totally regretting it now!

      The ADVENTURE TIME novel is definitely worth squealing over. 😉 My friend was writing a third one (yet to be announced) for the series. There’s a Lady Rainicorn and Jake novel in the series too. However, my friend didn’t write that one, so I haven’t read it. 😉

      Looked into SPRING FEVER. I must admit, that sounds like a very interesting plot. I hope it is as twisty and turny as it sounds! Enjoy your read. 🙂

Leave a Reply

