Even More Goals – #ROW80 Check-In

ROW80This week has been made of good things for me.  Between Sunday and today I lost even more weight.  Not like a pound or two, but six of them and I can fit into (though fear moving/sitting in) my hana kimi pants.  I attribute this to running, which I can do again because my knee (while a little achy off and on) seems healed.    My kids saved up enough to buy refurbished/preowned 2DSes.  My husband, inspired by my laptop happiness, finally got himself (and me while he’s at work) a gaming machine.  When the kids bought the 2DSes, he bought SIMS 4. He says for him, but like I said “while he’s at work”…  And speaking of that machine, he also got a deal for a tablet, so I get his old tablet to play dating simulation games on!  I’m not sure which I’m going to pick.  Too bad there isn’t a LOG HORIZON dating sim.  I’m finally watching season 2 of the anime and I love it (though season 1 had better production).

I feel like I’m forgetting something, but I really must get to the update as I’ve got a slew of new goals to talk about.  The general summary for my writing life for this week is that I finished my read through of ALCHEMY.  I spent Friday busy cleaning (this week somehow I got off track) and then Saturday I spent trying to plan out the rest of this round/June.  Additionally, a friend told me about this scifi anthology seeking submissions that got things brewing in my head.

Almost forgot to tell you I made a gender swapped Cat in the Hat costume for my daughter to wear to school. They were celebrating reading and this was one of the activities. I made it in 30 minutes.

Almost forgot to tell you I made a gender swapped Cat in the Hat costume for my daughter to wear to school. They were celebrating reading and this was one of the activities. I made it in 30 minutes.

HIGHEST PRIORITY GOALS
Work On Writing (Almost) Everyday
Sub Goal: ALCHEMY Read through for fixes (5/1 – 5/17) Started (5/1) & Done (5/21)
Added Goal (5/23): Outline short story (5/24) I sound boarded off my friend and basically know what the story is, but I need to marry it to paper so I don’t forget.
Added Goal (5/23): Write SciFi Short Story (5/26 – 5/30) This assumes a 5k story, but I don’t think it will be that long.
Added Goal (5/23): ALCHEMY deeper details for Chapter 1 (5/26 – 6/2) As I wrote draft 1 I realized some bits needed fleshing out/thinking on.  I rounded these up during my read through and will now face them.
Added Goal (5/23): ALCHEMY Chapter 1 Draft 2 (6/4-6/10) With the stuff fleshed out and my notes in hand, I’ll redraft this chapter.
Added Goal (5/23): Get More Stuff Out in Slush (6/12 – 6/13) Now I’m supposed to be doing this weekly now, but don’t.  So I doubt I’ll fit it in come summer.  So I gave myself a couple of days to enter the slush piles.
Added Goal (5/23): ALCHEMY Chapter 2 Deeper Details (6/15 – 5/21) As with chapter 1, so with chapter 2.
Added Goal (5/23): Start Chapter 2 Draft 2 (6/23) Dejavu…

MID-LEVEL PRIORITY GOALS
Read Lots
Added Goal(5/18): COOKIES AND SCREAM I started this, but have only read like 2 chapters.  I guess since it is extra it isn’t a big priority in my mind.
Sub Goal: Get in extra reading 2 times a week. 1/2 I didn’t read on Saturday which messed up the 2/2.

Exercise
Sub Goal: On Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday.  5/5
Sub Goal: To burn 1750 calories per week. 2520 Over double.  Makes me feel better about last week.

Also, a bug no one in our family ever saw before invaded our home. This was prior to me releasing it. Some research later revealed it was a bumble bee hawk moth.

Also, a bug no one in our family ever saw before invaded our home. This was prior to me releasing it. Some research later revealed it was a bumble bee hawk moth.

LOWEST PRIORITY GOALS
Be a Good ROWer
Edited (5/3) Sub Goal: Visit 2 5 (or more) blogs per on Sunday check-ins that I’m not subscribed to. I think so? I usually note it on my weekly to do list, which I didn’t print this week.  But I think I did.
Edited (5/3) Sub Goal: Visit the blogs each on Sunday’s check-in that I am subscribed to. I think so?

To Stay On Track: I need to write the outline of the short story today. Then I need to cover 1k and one detail a day for the rest of the week, except Monday (which I gave myself off to reward for the new goals and outline… plus it is a holiday).

What’s the last weird bug you discovered?
What made your week awesome?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Even More Goals – #ROW80 Check-In

  1. I love those moths. Hummingbird moths are pretty intense too. You’d swear that you were seeing a hummingbird until it actually settled for a second and gave itself away.

    Yay for soundboarding. I miss my best soundboarding buddy (too often I end up being the soundboard for others). Yay for getting some stories planned. No go get those weddings done. 😀

    • I was home alone when I encountered it. My husband was a little disappointed that I didn’t keep it captive for everyone to see (and then letting it go once everyone saw). I regret it too.

      The outline is already done! 😀 I did it while letting the azure dye sunk into my hair. I also got the printer cleaned off so I could print my to do list for the week! Now I will know for sure if I met goals or not.

      I know the pain of lacking a soundboard. My friends get so busy sometimes that I’m left to flail on my own. If you ever think I can be of help, never hesitate to contact me. 🙂

  2. What an amazing moth! And you’ve done so amazingly with your achievements on so many goals. Very well done.

    • It was kind of scary trying to catch it when I had no clue what it was and I was a bit afraid as I released it. Had I known it was a moth, I wouldn’t have been so scared.

      Thank you! I’m trying to keep things moving forward and in a timely/orderly manner. 🙂 Hope your goals are going well.

  3. Good luck with all your new goals.

  4. Well done on all your goals – lots of writing for sure.

Leave a Reply

