Friday Summer Preview – #ROW80 Check-In

ROW80The kids had school off on Friday.  I wish I could say my biggest worry was if I got my writing in, but it wasn’t.  It was “How do I burn 350 calories with them home?”  And after that was, “Will I still manage my writing?”  Because after months of being on a weight plateau, I started to lose weight again.  And since we had “there’s no school pancakes” that morning, I needed to burn those calories.  That said, I did manage both, but it wasn’t pretty.

The whole thing gives me food for thought for the not so very far off summer vacation.  I totally feel like I can do more than any vacation before, but it will be a struggle as I figure out how to make that happen.  I just can’t lose heart in the process.  Because my current schedule, which I just fixed so it will work in the mean time, won’t work for summer.

That schedule that I just mentioned?  With walking my friend’s dog, I had to tighten up some things and adjust others.  One of the adjustments led to a change in my goals.  I’ll explain as I update you on my active ones.

HIGHEST PRIORITY GOALS
Work On Writing (Almost) Everyday
Added Goal (4/23): Synopsis for GRANDMA Done! (4/27)  After I finished this on Monday, I took Tuesday off.  Wednesday and Thursday, I didn’t want to invest my time in something big, so I made sheets for my pre-writing phase.  I’ve been considering starting a binder for my writing. 
Sub Goal: ALCHEMY Read through for fixes (5/1 – 5/17) Started 5/1 Yup, started this on time. As I work on it, I realize I have a bit of work to do between finishing this reading and starting draft 2.  However, I’m very excited by it all. I love this work.

MID-LEVEL PRIORITY GOALS
Read Lots
Sub Goal: THE SIEGE (4/24 – 5/17) Started (4/16) I’m not as far along as I’d like.  I would love to be done and reading the next thing in my TBR pile.  However, the first thing I sacrifice (after chores I can ignore and blog visiting) is reading time.  So, this is one of the things that didn’t happen Friday (and a bunch of other days).
Sub Goal: JEM AND THE HOLOGRAMS ISSUE #2 (April – Done 4/29!), #3 (May), & #4 (June) SQUEE!  It was ever so neat how they did the Misfits’ music performance this issue.  And they introduced Rio, who was an animated crush of mine in the original.  (I’m not crushing on him now, though. Happily married and he’s too young for me now!)
Sub Goal: Get in extra reading 2 times a week. 1/2  I didn’t get to restructuring my schedule until Wednesday, so I couldn’t manage both. This goal is going to stay the same, but how I do it is going to change/be more manageable.

Exercise
Sub Goal: On Monday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday. 5/5 I’m working on working out harder, pushing my limits, so I can make my goal in a respectable amount of time (and so my workout time doesn’t eat into my writing time). 
Sub Goal: To burn 1750 calories per week. 1875

LOWEST PRIORITY GOALS
Be a Good ROWer This goal is where my schedule restructuring caused changes.  Basically, I am concentrating on this, the Sunday check-in, since it is the only one I do.  I need to reallocate Wednesday’s time to other tasks.
Sub Goal: Visit 2 (or more) blogs per check-in that I’m not subscribed to. 1/2
Edited (5/3) Sub Goal
: Visit 2 5 (or more) blogs per on Sunday check-ins that I’m not subscribed to.
Sub Goal: Visit the blogs each check-in that I am subscribed to. Half Yes
Edited (5/3) Sub Goal: Visit the blogs each on Sunday’s check-in that I am subscribed to.

Make It Up To the WIPpeteers
Sub Goal: One last awesome snippet from ALCHEMY Done (4/15) and another round of visits. Started visiting.  Lots of people left to visit, though.

BONUS GOALS
Lose More Weight Done! I think it is safe to say I’ve hit my next weight goal!  The one where I get to dye my hair… But, I need to find time and go buy bleach and other supplies first. Maybe in June?
Added Goal (4/26): Hang Kids’ School Pics Done! (4/26) This is one of those things I kept meaning to do, but didn’t. But a printer’s tray (for displaying LEGO mini figures on) caused for wall hanging craziness. With all the work and how long I meant to do it, I thought it deserved being called a goal.

To be on track: I need to read through chapter 9 of ALCHEMY and make notes.  If I’m to stay on schedule, I need to read through chapter 13 on THE SIEGE.  I really need to keep respecting when one activity ends and another begins, or I’ll end up falling behind.

Oh, quick brag!  I ran my fastest mile ever on Monday!  And I do mean ever, ever.  Not even thirty pounds lighter, high school me could do it that fast!  My (not too shabby) mile time was 11:01.  And it wasn’t a fluke.  I did it a second time on Saturday (and proceeded to run another .43 miles after that).

Your turn to brag!  Tell me something awesome you did last week.
Are you already thinking of summer? Got plans?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

