#WIPpet Wednesday: The Charge?

Mini Update
So. Many. Snow. Days. It all helped me realize that my ideal of writing 2,000 words everyday was nothing more than an ideal.  While everyone else is home, scheduled or not, I cannot do 2,000 but I can comfortably manage 1,000.  We’ll save 2,000 for the days everything goes as planned and they are all at work/school.  Since snow days, kids getting sick, and so on aren’t planned, I can only say how much I’m supposed to write after I’ve written for a week.  So, it’s always going to be a surprise!

~ *~  * ~ * ~

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 2/25/15.  First, we’ll ta the first and last numbers of the date and make 5 – 2 for page 3.  Then we’ll take the day and make 2 + 5 = 7 paragraphs.  As for that 1?  We’ll put it in our pocket for another day.

What’s My WIPpet?
Again I share from ALCHEMY, my cozy mystery fantasy.

Remember they pounded at Ana’s door to get her attention.  Now they finally get to the point as to why they were knocking in the first place.  (Story is narrated by Ana.)

This Week’s WIPpet
So, I clarified. “I shake my head because I do not understand. I cannot give what I do not know about,” I said.

“The carver fruit. Give it back,” said the guard. His hand was still out and his fingers now wiggled.

“I didn’t buy any carver fruit,” I said.

“I know you didn’t buy, stupid girl. You stole it,” said Luga. She pointed to a cart that was parked next to mine. It was a mix of harvested vegetables and fruit. Next to it was a worn young man with a scared look on his face.

“From there?” I asked, nodding my head in the direction she pointed.

“Yes,” hissed Luga.

“Without leaving my wagon?” I asked.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 22 Comments

Post navigation

22 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: The Charge?

  1. She’s sassy!

    Snow days kill my productivity, too. I’m not giving myself any more winter deadlines.

    Or summer, for that matter.

    • Sassy is a good way to describe her! 🙂

      I really want to have a “work everyday” mentality/ethic. However, I don’t want to work myself into burnout or set myself up to fail. That’s why I have this plan. As for deadlines, I have to work on how that goes… Might have to do a “range” (worse vs best case scenario).

  2. I like Ana! She’s so level-headed and logical. Even if I knew for sure I’d done nothing wrong, I’d be nervous as all get out. I’d probably start searching my stuff myself, just to be sure I was sure i was sure. But there’s Ana, all “been sitting here the whole time, duh.”

    • Oh, it definitely is a situation most people around her would be freaking out in. The fact she’s not freaking out is why she’s a main character. 😉 Don’t be mistaken, however. She does have faults. The biggest ones have yet to be shown.

  3. Sounds like a confrontation is underway. I feel sorry for Ana

  4. Hahaha. Logic. Can’t beat level-headed logic. Love it. I would not be so cool in her position.

    • I think few would be. Ana is very lucky to be who she is. I think things would have gone different by this point if she had freaked out!

  5. Oh I just wanted that to keep going! Why did it stop? Ana is the kind of bold that I pretend to be while I’m writing. Those characters are so fun to get onto the page!

    • It stopped because I don’t want to give away too much! Ana is far kinder and more understanding than I’d be. She’s also calmer. I’m currently into characters like her, rather than those like myself. It is definitely fun to write what I’m not.

  6. Snow days are either a blessing are a curse. Hope the weather breaks so the productivity goes up.

    • They are definitely a missed bag for me. My kids are great and the sleeping in is awesome. However, since we’re doing stuff together, I have less time and energy to write when I finally get to it (usually after lunch). Thankfully, they’ve had 2 whole days of school in a row!

  7. kathils

    Oh, come on, logic makes no sense whatsoever. ;p I think Ana might still have a problem convincing them of her innocence.

  8. The more I read of Ana, the more I love her. She’s so calm in the face of the accusation, so very logical; absolutely brilliant.

    I know you’re not getting everything done you’d want, but I’m kind of jealous of your snow days nonetheless. We get so little snow here… *pout* And 1000 words a day is nothing to be sneezed at, I’m envious of that too! *grins*

    • I’m glad she’s is so likable! That’s so important to me.

      I think very few people that live in snow actually like it. Maybe people who love skiing and live near a skiing place might? But, everyone here is all “MAKE IT STOP!” Those that get it rarely have a bigger appreciation of it. 🙂

      And yes, 1,000 is a good amount of words. It’s just… I see other people who have less time than me do more and I feel like it is feeble, I know I shouldn’t compare, but I do.

  9. Haha, love it when characters use sass to pick apart the other’s story. I like Ana!

    • When characters do this in something I’m reading/watching it always brings a smile to my face. I’m glad I pulled it off well. 🙂

  10. She doesn’t sound like she’s going to put up with these accusations…I sense trouble brewing!

  11. I know what you mean about the snow – I had visions of being curled up on the couch with my laptop, just letting the words flow – not exactly how it happened in the end. I really like Ana’s style – calm, cool, and collected.

Leave a Reply

