The 2015 Liebster Award

Denise D. Young, kindness and awesomeness all rolled up and packed into a writer, tagged me with the Liebster Award.  If I’ve got this right, I’ve got to answer her questions.  After that I’ve got to do my own set of questions and nominate some people to answer.  So, let’s get started!

1.) What most inspires your writing?
Things I love.  Latest inspiration was a MURDER, SHE WROTE marathon mixed with musings of things I watched and loved as a kid (MURDER, SHE WROTE was one of those things).

2.) It’s a cold and stormy night. What book do you curl up with?
Not horror.  I learned that lesson well as a teen, thank you very much.  I’d probably curl up with a manga, in case the power goes out.  Easier to find a picture than a paragraph!

3.) What was your favorite book when you were growing up?
In picture books it is a tie for MAX or HEY, AL (both were on Reading Rainbow and I still own them too).  And here is where I get a little cheaty and a bit cheesy… I loved the BABY SITTER’S CLUB series.  I tended to buy the mystery line (still got those too), but I read the normal ones too.

4.) Who is your greatest inspiration?
My son.  He has autism and for him to do lots of the normal things we take for granted takes a lot out of him.  I’m not saying he always does it with grace, but he always keeps trying and does his best to do what we ask of him.  That’s why I try not to give up, but rather try a different way instead.

5.) What’s your favorite movie? What do you love about it?
This can change on any given day, but today it is MACROSS PLUS (not the OVA version, but the movie one that’s on VHS on my shelf… I didn’t cheat this time).  Like the mix of destruction and creativity (war/battle and music).  Also, the future tech is amazing.  I’m a sucker for the whole MACROSS franchise, which shares the same theme (though, I refuse to acknowledge the existence of MACROSS 7). Deculture!

6.) Dark chocolate, milk chocolate, white chocolate, or no chocolate? What’s your preference?
Milk chocolate.  And since we’re talking chocolate: I’ve tried the Cadbury Eggs since the chocolate change and I miss the old stuff!  While not terrible, it isn’t as good as it used to be.

7.) If you could travel to any place, real or imagined, where would it be?
Probably, Wonderland.  I’m a sucker for awesome visuals.  That place would be a feast for the eyes.

8.) What do you do when you’re not writing?
Reading books, comics, or manga.  I’m watching geeky stuff (Korean dramas, anime, DOCTOR WHO, SUPERNATURAL, ADVENTURE TIME, and so on).  Playing with my pets (the guinea pigs, hamster, dogs, but not the fish as that would be weird).  Sometimes I arts and crafts (crocheting, DIY solutions to problems, sewing, drawing badly, and so on).  I like finding new recipes on Pinterest (usually I try out at least one a week).  And on Saturdays I currently play 5th edition DUNGEONS AND DRAGONS with my game group.

9.) What’s your hidden talent?
If you asked my husband this question he’d say that he could be anywhere in the house (out of sight even) and when he picks up a book and gets about one paragraph in I’ll start calling for him or trying to talk to him. If you ask me?  I’d have to say if I have a hidden talent it is so well hidden I can’t find it.

10.) If you were a supernatural/paranormal creature/being, what would you be and why?
If I got to pick, I’d be something with magic powers.  A Sorceress or Fairy Godmother, but not a Genie (raw deal).  Magic is an instant form of change and real change takes a long time.  However, if the Universe picked for me, I think I’d end up something like a Banshee or Goblin.  My luck is not always the greatest.

11.) Finish this sentence: The perfect day involves…
Sleeping in, morning sunshine, afternoon lightning storm, clear night, temps near 75F, nothing breaking, no emergencies, no one screaming/shrieking/crying, something good to read, something good to watch, and yummy food.  Quiet and mellow make my day.

Now, for the questions I came up with!
1- Imagine time travel vacations were possible. Would you rather go to the past or the future?  When exactly?  Why?
2- Name a genre you would find very hard to write.  Why is it hard for you to write?
3- Favorite brand and flavor of tea? (Or coffee if you must.)
4- Favorite fairy tale everyone knows.  Favorite lesser known fairy tale.
5- If you were someone’s pet, what kind of animal would you be and what would your owner be like?
6- We’ve heard of Potterheads, Twihards, and other literary fandoms.  What would your readers be called and why?
7- What was your favorite show as a kid? What do you remember most about it?  Why did you like it?
8- Outline or pantsing?  Why?
9- What’s your favorite dessert?  Share the recipe?
10- What’s the most useful book or piece of advice that has helped you with your writing?

I now pick these people to answer!
Paul Jessup (You know why…)
Caren K. Rich (Hope you’re eye is feeling better!)
Jae Dansie (If and when you can. No worries if you can’t)
Y-O-U!  (Because there is always someone out there that wishes they had been tagged.  This spot is for you.)

 

Categories: Random | Tags: , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The 2015 Liebster Award

  1. Thanks! My eye is better. I never would have pegged you for the Babysitter’s Club. I was more of Encyclopedia Brown Mysteries.

    • Can’t wait to read your answers!

      I think my BSC history is a bit surprising, but it shouldn’t be. My interests are wide and varied. Also, I didn’t read comics until I was an adult. If I had read them when I was younger I’d probably have an awesome collection! 😉

Leave a Reply

