It’s a Conspiracy – My Week – #Row80 Check-In

ROW80The universe has conspired against me to teach me some lessons.

It started innocently enough, hinting at my first and biggest to-be-learned lesson on Monday.  The kids had off from school, which I knew was coming, but hadn’t fully entered into my plans.  Tuesday it hinted again.  The kids had a two hour delay that upset my day’s balance.  Thursday and Friday were snow days.  This is when the lesson was starting to sink in.  Saturday, as my daughter got a stomach bug and my father-in-law wasn’t feeling well (thus son stayed home), I got the lesson loud and clear.

My lesson? Part one is I can really write every single day if I want to.  YAY!  I have it in me!  Take that snags.  Part two is I’m freaking cocoa for cracker bats if I think I can write 1,500 words (or even the 2,000 I’m supposed to be doing starting today) on days I’m not home alone.  The price of this lesson?  All the extra words I squeezed into my WIP have padded my lost words.  I’m still “on schedule,” but no longer ahead of schedule.  I have to go back and redo my schedule.

Last weekend I cleaned and reorganized my desk.  Twice.  I didn't like the first set up.

Last weekend I cleaned and reorganized my desk. Twice. I didn’t like the first set up.

I also learned something else.  While I had extra time during edits, I don’t have said time with writing.  Not only is there no time for Korean dramas (I’ll get back to you someday NAIL SHOP PARIS!), there is no time for any extra reading.  I manage my “main” reading material and that’s it.  But, at least some steady reading is occurring.

With the stage set, allow me to share my active goals progress.

Outline and Write ALCHEMY
Finish 3/31 (after round ends) On schedule, but need to alter schedule.

Read More
GAMER GIRL 2/4 – 3/17 (added 2/4) To be on schedule I needed to be on chapter 16. I’m on 20.  So I do fit in “extra” reading, but it is just on this book.  However, I am trying to finish it early because I have to Beta for a friend.
Fitting in extra stuff where I can. On hold until I finish ALCHEMY.

Be a Good ROWer
Every check-in comment on 2+ ROWer blogs that I don’t follow and as many as I can of those that I do follow. Done!

Be Healthy
Exercise: Monday and Wednesday- Yoga + 1 Mile | Thursday- 3 Miles | Friday and Saturday- Light Workout I exercised on every one of these days.  I didn’t necessarily do the assigned bit because of the above listed complications.
Stick to Eating Plan Yes!

I’ll be working on adjusting my word count daily goals and schedule to reflect my lessons learned over the weekend.  That’s why my plans are kind of vague.  Write everyday.  Exercise those five days (vary if need be).  Finish GAMER GIRL and start friend’s manuscript.  Visit ROWers and eat healthy.

Has the weather changed up your life?
Do you have more extra time writing or editing?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “It’s a Conspiracy – My Week – #Row80 Check-In

  1. “Man plans, God laughs,” right? You’re doing really well if you’re getting anything done writing-wise with the kids home. Considering that, you had a great week.

    • At the start of the year, I was all “No matter what, I’ll get my words each day! I will be serious writer!” However, I underestimated how hard those words can be to get. And I forgot about snow days and just how limited my time is when I’m not alone. This is my reality check. My game is still being upped, but not at such a steep curve.

  2. A serious writer?What are you if not one, of course you are – but you do have a family as well – it’s always a life balance thing I’m afraid – lower the expectations they need you as well as the other world character – the children grow up really fast:) I think you’ve done very well this week myself – all the best for coming week.

    • Maybe serious was the wrong word? Disciplined might be better? Last year I was a bit too loose with what I expected from myself and lacked planning with thought to my writing career goals. This year, I not only feel more productive, but more on track with my current plan (even if it needs some nips and tucks).

      But, I agree. The kids grow up fast. And that’s why I give them priority one and why the writing is being tamed into a proper place. 🙂

  3. I’m a huge fan of not beating yourself up. If you can’t write one day, due to factors, it’s okay. Just try to write the next day or try to fit in a few hundred words on the day you skipped so you can at least keep your head in the story. Things happen. I’ve been writing every day for at least 9 years, and I’ve had days where it was impossible (scheduling, stress, surgery recuperation, things like that). The important thing is you keep on. 😀 Nice work on your goals.

    • The not beating myself up thing is always a struggle. And I know I can’t everyday literally, but I don’t want to be lazy and easily succumb to excuses. It is a hard balance.

  4. and I thought I was the only one being tossed in the ringer this week! Hope next week is better and everyone gets well.

    • My daughter seems better now and my father-in-law is also on the mend (he stopped by with raisin bread for the kids). At least I won’t have anyone home sick, but I don’t know if the weather will cooperate (overnight low with windchill is -15 and that’s school delay if not canceling weather). Either way, I’ll roll with it. Rather than being all strict, I’ll make allowance for life which I wasn’t before!

  5. Wow, I’m impressed…I love detailed lists, but I can’t plan or stick to detailed schedules like that! That reminds me of one thing I really like about ROW80, though–how everyone can adapt their goals each week or Period, as they learn or adapt. Glad everyone’s feeling better, and good luck with the rest of February!

    • ROW80 is awesome for seeing so many different approaches to writing and being inspired by it all. In the past I don’t think this could have worked for me either. I just think I reached that point in my work where I’ve evolved tow here it can. Process is an ever changing thing. 🙂

  6. What with Mousetrap 2 weeks from opening, I feel like my free time is going to disappear. But the weather has been frigid for much of the time (although this past weekend was a balmy 35 on Sunday). So yeah, sometimes the weather hinders the writing/editing, because I am too cold to function those days. Yet, there are days when I am able to get much accomplished. so, it depends on the mindset. And it’s back to being cold.

    • I’m wearing gloves as I type, so I get it. We haven’t been above freezing more than a handful of times since end of January. This is not normal for us and it is starting to get silly!

      And, I think I said it before, but I’ll say it again, break leg with your production! 🙂

  7. Sometimes I think we make plans just to learn these lessons… Best of luck getting that word cushion back! At least you’re still on schedule – that’s a great place to be! Have a lovely week. 🙂

    • Trying to balance it all properly might be impossible, but I’m sure there’s a close enough stage. I’m aiming for that! I think the adjustments I made got me closer to it too. So far meeting all my daily word goals, sadly they are “snow day” amounts. My kids are on a six day weekend because of weather!

  8. I have to admit that when hubby is off work due to the weather, it can be distracting. He’s taking graduate classes and working full-time at the moment, though, so any snow days he gets are usually spent doing school work–which means I’m less distracted than I otherwise would be.

    My problem at the moment is transitioning between projects. Once I get started I’m usually fine. It’s making the transition from one story to the next that slows me down.

    • I have the same kind of problem, myself when working on two projects in one day. I usually try to cleanse in between with a music/social media break. Though that can lead to its own distractions! 😉

      I won’t lie, either. It isn’t that my kids are distracting, overly much. It is that I refuse to let them watch tv, use computers, or play video games before noon. So, I have to organize activities (which are now almost a set schedule). It’s my attempt at being a good parent. 😉

Leave a Reply

