Searching For the Ginkgo Tree

20150120_111636It started not long after we bought our house.  I was walking my dog and daughter (preschooler at the time).  On the ground I saw it.  A leaf.

Quick flashback!  I’m in seventh grade.  My homeroom/science teacher announces we have a huge project to do.  He gives us a huge list of leaves we need to find.

“Oh!  I know this leaf.  Pucca, I know this leaf!  Betty look!”  I don’t know why I showed the dog… Anyways, this leaf was special.  This is one of those leaves (unlike birches, which i couldn’t identify to save my life) that sticks with you.

This was a ginkgo leaf.  The ginkgo tree is practically prehistoric (learn more here) and something I never thought I’d see again.  After all, in seventh grade I got the leaf during our leaf walk at the local college (I think they had been a gift from another college in Japan, but don’t quote me on that).

But, here was a ginkgo leaf in Ohio.  And I wanted to find that tree…

My daughter entered fourth grade (no longer a preschooler).  And in September, I still hadn’t found the tree.  My husband had been looking for the past year.  He hadn’t found it either.  I had given up hope, but those leaves I found kept me looking.

It was the start of November.  They started leaf pickup in our town.  Up the street I passed by this huge pile of yellow leaves.  Leaves that have taunted me for seven years now.  I looked at the house and saw similar leaves all over the garage roof.  The ginkgo tree grows in the backyard.

And as I found this tree, my daughter found an other on the street her grandfather lives on.  And my husband found another across the street from the funeral homes.  When it rains, it pours ginkgo trees!

Have you ever had a “personal mystery” like mine?
Do you have a favorite tree?

Categories: Random | Tags: , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Searching For the Ginkgo Tree

  1. Funny how things like that happen. As a child we had a this tree that grew wild on overpasses. It grew these beautiful pink, silky pompoms. I loved that tree (can’t remember the name) I know it was a transplant, from China, gone wild. But I loved that tree. I still look for it, but rarely see it.

    • I think certain plants, rocks, and so on leave an impression on us. I learned so many tree leaf types that year, but I’ll be pressed to identify even 1/4 of those. I find it interesting what we connect with and why.

      Thank you for sharing your plant story with me. 🙂

  2. I’m not sure I have a favorite tree. I like maples and oaks, but symbolism-wise my favorite tree is the willow. It represents feminine energy and poetry, and while there aren’t many willows near where I live, I still enjoy the rare site of them. There are a few on the college campus nearby, so when I’m there I can usually spot one.

    • Where I used to go sledding as a kid was full of willow trees. I didn’t just sled there. I went there for my all non-playground play. It was a neat place, but odd to describe. There aren’t many willows in my current area, but I see two at one of the houses that has horses that I pass every time we take the back roads. They grow very big and very beautiful in my opinion. 🙂

Leave a Reply

