#ROW80 Goals for Round 1 of 2015

ROW80Usually, I take the first few days of the new year to discuss the year that has passed, my vision for the year to be, and what I got over the holidays. But I wanted to set the tone for this year from the very start.  And I did, but you weren’t there to see me on January 1st writing some outlines notes.  So, I waited to post anything on here until it shared that “writing is what’s important” purpose.

See, I’ve let my writing become a lesser priority and quite disorganized.  Family rules, and it always should.  But the bath tub? Why does scrubbing that thing always beat writing?  It can wait a day or two (most of the time).  And while I spent the end of last year getting my whiteboards in order, I’ve let following up and doing anything with those projects fall flat.  I’ve been muddling through my work, not planning how to tackle any of it. And if “writing is what’s important” I need to fix that.

I’ll be using my ROW80 goals to help get me on the right track.  And those goals are…

Outline and Write ALCHEMY
I poked at this outline in 2014 and started getting serious with it since the 1st.  I hope to have the outline done by the 20th.  Then I’ll let it sit (let it stew in case I missed something).  On February 13th I’ll start writing ALCHEMY and I’ll finish it between rounds on March 31st.

GRANDMA Draft 3
I keep saying I’ll finish polishing this up and getting it awesomer, but I don’t.  January 21st through February 12th (as the ALCHEMY outline stews) I’ll finally get back to that.

Read More
I will finally finish I SHALL WEAR MIDNIGHT (by 1/12). After that (1/13 – 2/26) I’ll be reading THE SECRET DIARY OF LIZZIE BENNET.  I’m a huge THE LIZZIE BENNET DIARIES fan and I’m so happy to read this.  Then (2/27 – 3/26) I’ll be finishing out the round reading KNIT ONE, KILL TWO.  Of course, I’ll also be fitting in extra stuff like YUREI ATTACK! and my Marvel PRIDE AND PREJUDICE comic, as well as other things, where I can.

Be a Good ROWer
Every check-in I will comment on at least 2 ROWer blogs that I don’t follow and as many as I can of those that I do follow.  The end of last year was rough for me and the ROWers were so kind.  I want to maintain a good standing in this community and pay it forward.

Be Healthy
By Christmas I lost enough weight that I was at my 2012 Christmas weight.  I’ll be sticking with our low carb lifestyle, which has been working since November, and I hope to reach my 2012 Summer weight by end of Round 1.  However, I won’t rely solely on diet.  Exercise will also be key to my success.  I’ll be continuing yoga at the rec center and following classes up with a one mile run (Monday and Wednesday).  I’ll be doing a 3 mile jog Thursdays.  And on Fridays and Saturdays I’ll do some light exercise (like walking while doing a language CD or taking the dogs for a 30 minute walk).

Did you see that?  I gave myself deadlines!  Whips are cracking!  And the deadlines aren’t the only new thing.  How approach my day and that bath tub scrubbing are different too.  But don’t worry about me.  All changes are being approached slowly.  Nothing spells out failure like taking on too many new things at once!

Obviously, I got some book for the holidays. What reads did you get this holiday season?
What are you looking forward to this year?

blogad

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “#ROW80 Goals for Round 1 of 2015

  1. I’m looking forward to a lot of possibilities and cracking my own whip.

    As for the holidays, I got some nice things: Tardis blanket, a stuffed lil Bub, other trinkets and baubles, and a HUGE chunk of peace of mind and relaxation for about 2 weeks.

  2. Good luck with your goals 🙂 I’m bowing out this time, but I hope to have fun catching up with everybody.

    • Catching up with people… I need to do that. I’m still recovering from my fumbling at the end of the year and trying to do it “better” as I go. Thanks and I hope whatever endeavors you are currently pursuing are going/go well for you.

  3. theworld4realz

    Good luck! I’m attempting 500 words per day, with hopes of completing my WIP by June 30, 2015. I’m participating in a reading challenge, as well, but nothing extremely structured. I made a list of 50 books I want to read this year, and if I hit ‘em all, that’s awesome, but if I fall short, that’s okay. We can do this!

    • Thanks! We totally got this!

      I wish i could say I have a reading list… More like piles of books I’ve gathered and allowed dust to settle on. I want to read so many things but am so slow (getting to and doing the act).

  4. You have some good goals there! I’ve set my ROW80 goals to include exercise, doodling, writing, and socializing, with an added, bonus goal of people-watching. Here’s to progress on all of our goals!

    Wow, a TARDIS blanket? Could you post a picture of it? I’m just a smidge jealous, y’know. ;-D

    • Those sound like good goals. I almost included drawing a chibi a day for January. However, I felt I had too much going on. People watching is good. I watch people at yoga before it starts or out on the street before/afterwards. The watching always gets my brain juices flowing with stories as to what’s going on in their heads or in their lives.

  5. For Christmas, my husband got us a new dryer – the old one as broken for a few weeks – a new pillowtop mattress cover, and some lovely dyed roses. World Unknown Review, with my story in it, arrived just after the holiday….

    A practical and cozy celebration…

    I like your goals and your attitude!

    • It sounds like you had a great Christmas. I do my best not to be practical at the holidays since I always do the practical thing the rest of the year. Though, I have to admit a new dryer sounds awesome (I’m getting old if I’m saying that).

Leave a Reply

