A Week That Broke My Heart

ROW80Monday, I finished RAT just like I wanted to and used the last warm day to get my outdoor display up. Tuesday, my hamster, Queenie, died.  I spent the day crying and desperately trying to distract myself. Wednesday, I cleaned the house as we were on deck to host the dinner the next day. I didn’t get overemotional until I had nothing to do. Also, sent out international holiday cards.  Thursday, we feasted and I kept myself constantly busy.  We had planned to give Queenie a bit of cooked yam to try and it broke our hearts when we made them.  Friday, I finished decorating for the holidays and made not one, or two, but three picture sized memory collages I’ll eventually have printed and put somewhere as a keepsake.  Holiday cards sent out for U.S. peeps.  Also, watched THE GRINCH cartoon to kick off the holidays. Yesterday, I made this video and a plan of attack for the coming week.

I’m focusing on having a healthy grieving/mourning period as I’m prone to severe depression.  Queenie might have been small, but she was a big part of my life and influenced my latest works.  That said,  I’m ice boxing RAT and the prequel HAMSTER until I am healed.  Which isn’t a big deal because I have so many other things going on.

I’m not going to go into how I did with goals last week in depth because the loss of my hamster and the holiday made things wonky.  (Overall, especially considering, I did good.)  Instead, let’s skip to this upcoming week.  I’m going easy on myself.  I have a lot of writer “housekeeping” I’ve let slip and my writer “house” is a mess for it.  I’m going to clean that up and reread my personal project which I haven’t touched since October to figure out what I need to do with that.  My creativity is very not present at the moment, so these sorts of things suit me.

How was your week?

blogad

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “A Week That Broke My Heart

  1. kathils

    Many hugs on the loss of Queenie. Size has nothing to do with the piece of our heart they occupy. A piece they take with them to hold as we hold them in ours.

  2. May the coming week bring quiet moments and a sense of appreciation for all you shared. I still miss my Tiger cat, and he’s been gone for nearly ten years. Who would think we could fall in love with such a tiny creature, but we do.

  3. Small as they are, losing any pet hurts. You don’t realize what a part of your life they were until they’re gone. Again, sorry about poor Queenie. Take it easy this week.

  4. {{hugs}} for your loss. I am a rodent person too, though mine are gerbils. It’s amazing what wonderful companions these little babies can be, and how hard it is to lose one, even though they’re with us for such a short time. Be kind to yourself, and do what you can.

  5. Hi, Gloria. I just wanted to say again how sorry I am for your loss. It’s good that you’re being easy on yourself this week. You need some time to heal before you start demanding all those goals of yourself again, and you do have an impressive list going! 🙂 Keep busy, but embrace the quiet times, too, and don’t be afraid to cry when you need to. Queenie may have been tiny, but she has a huge part of your heart. (((hugs)))

  6. Sorry to hear about Queenie. My condolences. Just think she’sis on the other side of the rainbow bridge with all the yogurt bits and veggie she could want. Take time and heal, it will get better. Sending you warm thoughts your way!

Leave a Reply

