WIPpet Wednesday: Obviously it is a hamster.

Mini Update
I skipped WIPpet Wednesday last week as my husband was on vacation and we were running around.  Kind of forgot that was happening or I would have said something beforehand.  For those that don’t know, I’m doing NaNoWriMo. I’m finishing HAMSTER and writing the 3 books that follow it.  And, mostly because I have it, I’ll share this video of what inspired me to write HAMSTER.  This is Queenie attacking her weekly toilet paper tube puzzle chew with shelled peanut in the middle.

~ *~  * ~ * ~

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 11/5/14.  For the page we’ll turn 14 into 4 – 1= 3.  For the amount we’ll do 1 + 1 + 5 = 7 sentences.

What’s My WIPpet?
This is HAMSTER.  And finally, I’m getting to the hamster part of it.  Now if you’re a hamster lover like me you’ll spot the “bad information” right away.  The Collins family has no clue about hamsters and their care, but I promise they’ll learn.  For those that don’t know, there’s no such thing as a black bear hamster.  That’s more of a nickname rather than species.

This Week’s WIPpet
“Tada! I got you a black bear,” said Mr. Collins.

“That’s not a bear, Dad,” said Darcy as she leaned in for a closer look.

“It is a black bear hamster,” said Mr. Collins.

Charles leaned in toward the cage. A hamster. His pet.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Obviously it is a hamster.

  1. Queenie seems to really enjoy her puzzle treat box! Do you make them yourself? Are they taped or glued? Does she get a yogurt drop for getting the prize from the puzzle?

    As for your WIPpet, it was just enough to tweak my interest. What could you possibly write a fiction novel about, with sequels, concerning a hamster, I have to wonder? I’m very interested in what the book is about, because, even though I’ve had hamsters, I cannot think of a plot where a hamster is a major player! I am baffled, and I look forward to my enlightenment! 😀

    • I make it myself. I cut a toilet paper tube into 5 rings and assemble it in a ball shape (in the hollow center I put the shelled nut before I finish it up). Her prize are the peanuts inside! She gets this every Wednesday. Yogurt drops are on Fridays. 😉

      Regard fiction novel about a hamster… I saw books about a series about class pet hamster in my daughter’s Scholastic flyer once. Give me a second… [Looks it up] Here it is. They are middle grade novels, but still novels.
      https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/825679.The_World_According_to_Humphrey

      As for what I’m writing, it’s more a chapter book (7-10k length) and the next book isn’t about hamsters, but rats. I should be starting that one tomorrow!

  2. Ooh he did get a pet! Hooray!! Nice excerpt. 🙂 Good luck with NaNo BTW!

    • Thanks. I did consider showing their first mistake in hamster ownership, but I figured I should just get to the freaking hamster already. 😉

  3. Cute! (both the excerpt and the video)

  4. Yay! Hamsters are very cute. I’m glad he got his pet! 🙂

    • Everyone is so happy for Charles. The getting of the pet is where the trouble begins! There’s so much people do wrong with hamsters. I even researched some before getting mine and made mistakes myself.

  5. Sweet – I like the family moment. It’s such fun caring for a pet 🙂

    • If only one of them had a clue how to take care of a hamster. I skipped to this part, but the dad bought the cage and the hamster at the same time. The cage wasn’t even assembled. Additionally, store bought cages… Let’s see if we get to that part of the WIP.

      • I remember a rather stressful assembly when my girls were small – we bought a book, got advice about the care of the hamsters, food, plans for their exercise and didn’t realise how hard it would be to erect the playhouse! I will look forward to more of the WIP – happy adventuring!

  6. AWW, HAMMIE!

Leave a Reply

