The Hardest Part of Yoga

I could probably complain about downward facing dog for a week, but that’s not what I’m talking about.  The hardest part about yoga for me is keeping my mind off of other stuff.

I am all downward facing dog and my mind, rather than focus on strain and discomfort, tries to escape.  Or maybe I’m all comfortable and then, my “go, Go. GOOOOO” instincts/conditioning kicks in.  I think about what I need to do after class, how much class is left, that I should write a blog post about how my mind won’t shut up during yoga, and so on.

I also compare myself to my neighbors.  Not on purpose (most of the time).  At first I’m just checking I’m doing what I’m supposed to be doing and then… My mind switches on.  And if it is not comparing, it is fear of judgement.  “My shirts riding up! I hope no one is offended or disgusted by my tummy.”

But, here’s the thing, I keep shutting it up.  I focus on my breathing.  I check my pose.  I close my eyes.  I reset.  Because the quiet brain does wonders for me.  It’s amazing how much I think (gotta do this, what would X think about that, why does z occur, and so on).  Not thinking, and just being is so relieving.

So, I invite you to play this song (one my yoga teacher plays during class) and just stop thinking.  Focus on your breathing.  Give your mind a moment of quiet.

Do you have a hard time quieting your mind?
Have you a yoga position that makes you cringe to do?

 

Categories: Random | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “The Hardest Part of Yoga

  1. I have never been able to make my mind stop. That could explain my long standing friendship with insomnia! At least you are trying to be healthy. I write that as I pop another piece of leftover Halloween candy into my mouth!

    • Healthy? I ate frosting with nothing else. Hehe. I was finishing it off (son’s birthday was Friday and it was leftover from decorating his cake). 😉

  2. I definitely have a hard time quieting my mind. I often catch myself focusing on the future, sometimes on the past, and I have to remind myself to be present in the moment. Yoga has taught me to be better at that, but I still have a long way to go.

    Good post!

    • I’ve been considering doing a daily “brain off” time. However, I am very unsure when this would happen (time wise). I had a hard time finding time to read. But, if there’s a gap in yoga I’ll definitely have to find some time!

  3. It’s been a long time since I’ve done yoga. I keep thinking that maybe it would be good to go back, particularly when Ember is a little older. Last time I did yoga was with Heidi, and during the wall stands I got a really strong urge to kick her over. I didn’t think the yoga instructor would approve, so I restrained myself…barely. 🙂

    • I could just imagine if you hadn’t restrained yourself. Oh the giggles I am having! I’m in a beginner’s class full of mostly retirees. The instructor referred to it as restorative yoga. So, lucky for me, there are no wall stands (I think I’d hurt myself trying that).

Leave a Reply

