#WIPpet Wednesday: A Weekly Question

WIPpetWedHello again!
WIPpeteers, I’m back.  Long done is summer.  The start of September should have welcomed new words, but no.  Then I was met with only refining and correcting (edits).  It took me so long to return and my return is far from dramatic.  Right now, I’m working on small projects as I set up the next big thing.  I missed this community and all the members.  I’m so happy to be back.

Don’t Know What WIPpet Wednesday Is?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 10/15. The page is 1 + 0 = 1.  The number of sentences is 1 + 5 = 6.

What’s My WIPpet?
HAMSTER is the code name for this chapter book.  Knowing the code name and seeing the excerpt… You see where this is going, right?

This Week’s WIPpet
Every Friday night at dinner, like a well oiled clock sounding its alarm, Charles Collins asked a single question. “Can I have a pet?”

His father, Mr. Collins, had grown quite used to it. “No,” he answered between forkfuls.

However, Charles’ older sister, Darcy, was growing quite bored of this. She thought, Why can’t we have a Friday night dinner without this question?

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

 

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday: A Weekly Question

  1. I’m going to guess he gets a hamster without Dad knowing. Amirite?

  2. lol guess what’s for dinner? =P anyway, good set up to a plot.

  3. I’m guessing he’s going to get an elephant. *is smart*

  4. Welcome back! 😀

    Great excerpt. I hope he gets a giraffe. Although something makes me think he gets a hamster…

  5. Gerbil? Guinea pig? Capybara? Okay, hamster. 🙂

    • There’s a chance that in the future the Collins family might get guinea pigs (because they are herd animals and should be kept in pairs at the very least… Sorry my small animal obsession is showing). But, I need to finish this first and this is about a hamster. 😉

  6. I like this very much Gloria! Reminds me of family meals when I was growing up – we’d have similar conversations lol. 🙂

    • I’m glad I managed to stir up nostalgia. It means I got something right in that scene. I remember being like this when I was a kid, but nowadays in my house I’m the one always asking for new pets (not the kids). 😉

  7. Hahaha! This sounds like dinner at my house, only it’s my daughter asking for a pet and my son rolling his eyes and wishing she would stop.

    • Yay! I captured a bit of authenticity. Thank you for letting me know.

      And, come on. Get the girl a pet. They are awesome! Of course, having three dogs, three fish tanks, a hamster, and (just added yesterday) 2 guinea pigs, I might be bias. 😉

      • LOL! Well, we do have a cat. But she wants a dog…and has been asking for a long time. I said when she’s 10 and can help be responsible for one.

  8. kathils

    I always wanted a pony. I still don’t have one. But I did have a gerbil, and a hamster, and a bunch of cats, many dogs, sheep, parakeets…I think that’s it.

    • I wanted a pony too. It didn’t help that my cousins all had horses. My parents may have never forgiven my uncle for that. But, none of us had sheep. That’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

