I Read The Wicked Wedding of Miss Ellie Vyne

QDinobook

If I Wrote the Back Cover Blurb:
Miss Ellie Vyne and James Hartley (a Count) have known each other since childhood.  Their relationship?  Far from pleasant.  Of course, this a historical romance, so that must change!  Cross dressing, a kiss, a fake engagement, and some family jewels (not that kind, get your mind out of the gutter and save it for the book) evolve into a grand tale of soap opera proportions and a love neither expected.

My Opinion:
Quick Note: This is book 2 in the Sydney Dovedale series.  I have not read book 1, and Fresina covered it well enough that I feel I missed nothing just jumping into this one.

I love historical romance novels.  A lot.  So what if I know how it will end.  Bodices.  Stays. Great coats. Servants.  Carriages. Manors.  I love the ride.  And this was a happy read for me… For the most part.

Fresina kind of lost me near the end, with Ellie’s father (I won’t say more or else I’ll spoiler you).  I think that was one thing too many.  I had already stretched my forgiveness when Ellie’s best friend’s (Sophie Valentine from book 1) nephew’s story was revealed.  But, once I got the happily ever after, I forgave her.

I suggest this book if you like high drama historical romance.  I think it is a good read and you get to know all four of the Sydney Dovedale heroines.  After reading it I felt I could live without books 1 and 2, but I’ll definitely be picking up book 4 (Miss Molly Robbins) next time I go to the bookstore.

What kind of romance tickles your fancy?
Is there a series you only read in part? Why?

Categories: Reading | Tags: , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

