#ROW80 Round 4 Goals 2014

ROW80I think of all the rounds this one is the toughest.  There’s Halloween (a big holiday in my household) and the week vacation my husband takes that week.  There’s Thanksgiving and the five day weekend the kids get for it.  There’s winter break for the kids.  There’s Christmas and the shopping, hiding gifts, and wrapping stuff.  Just lots of interruptions and complications.  Awesome interruptions and complications but still interruptions and complications.

Bluntly put: I’ll be taking lots of tine off throughout the round.  I’ll also be ending early.

That means I’m going to work hard to make these goals happen!

Writing
Complete “Start Here” sheets for TROLL, ALCHEMY, SPOILERS, and DAUGHTER
This is the first page of my Pre-Writing Packet (the thing I fill out to organize my thoughts before I start writing a novel).  I’ve had so many ideas, but I haven’t put anything about them to paper yet.  This is me starting.
Complete Pre-Writing Packet for one of the above
I will use those first sheets to pick my next project.  And filling out the whole packet for it will get me closer to writing it.
Write outline and start writing HAMSTER
This is a chapter book, which I approach differently than a novel.  I also think this will be a good project to start during this time of year.  (Especially, when you take into account I got my hamster one year ago this round.)
Write a Personal Project
This is a fun, free myself thing.  A playground.  This is to keep the words loose and I’d like to do one this round.
Work on daily word count goals
Pre-summer I had stopped worrying about a daily goal and was just doing.  I think I need to apply a wee bit more pressure on myself to perform.  So I’ll have weekly goals and slowly increase them through the round.

Other
Read 30 pages and/or 15% a week
I figure that and ebook’s 1% is 2 or 3 pages of an actual book.  Based on that shaky logic, I want to do some combination of reading that equals the above.
Study 5 breakfasts and 4 lunches per week
Review, research, assimilate, and work my mind.  Also gets my butt in a chair so I eat my meals sitting down instead of walking through the house.
Visit 2+ ROWers per check-in
What I mean by 2+ is that I follow quite a few ROWer blogs.  The 2 is for the ones I don’t follow.  The + is for those I do.
Walk to Yoga and/or Weights and Walking (M, W, Th, F)
The day these goals go up the rec center is having its first yoga class.  I’m not sure how I’ll feel about it as I have yet to do it, so I put and/or.  If I do stick with it, I’ll walk to/from class (about 15 minutes from my house) Mondays and Wednesdays.  On the other two days I’ll lift weights and walk three miles.  And if I dislike the class, weights and 3 miles all workouts.

What are you looking forward to for the upcoming holidays?
Are you trying something new this round?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “#ROW80 Round 4 Goals 2014

  1. Great to meet you 🙂 This is my first ROW80 and I’m a sponsor too, so I hope to catch up with you and your goals as we go along.

  2. Fantastic list of goals – I’m looking forward to watching your progress! Also, nice to “meet” you. In my experience so far, ROW80ers are a fun group. 🙂

    • I started ROWing back in 2012 and have enjoyed being part of the community ever since. I wish you the best this round. 😀

  3. For a minute there, I thought you had written “TROLL ACADEMY.” So you’re kicking off four projects? Wow…

    • I’m just going to get the basics of those four ideas down (they have been living solely in my head). This way I can look at the ideas properly and make my choice as to which I’ll properly prepare for writing. HAMSTER and the Personal Project might be done by the time I’m ready to write the chosen work.

      Might be nice if I got it all done in time for NaNoWriMo, but I’m not pressuring myself. What happens happens.

  4. kathils

    Troll, Alchemy, Spoilers and Daughters could be a very interesting title for one work. 😉 I love personal projects — what I call my sandbox. Somewhere to go play, without any expectations at all. Good luck on the goals!

    • That sounds like it would be a very complicated story. My coffee levels are still so low I can’t even imagine what “Troll, Alchemy, Spoilers, and Daughter” would be about, even with the obvious elements listed. 😉

      Thanks and I swear I’ll be back to WIPpet Wednesday the instant something has some form of words happening. Just might take me another week or two to get to that point!

Leave a Reply

