I Read Yokai Attack!

Book1

This is the second book by this duo that I have read.  The first was NINJA ATTACK!  And, in case you forgot, I loved that book.  So question is, did I love YOKAI ATTACK!?

Heck, yeah!  I’m totally ready for a Japanese monster attack.

book2

Rub it in, why don’t you.

Anyways, being a Westerner, I grew up with pixies trying to get you lost in the woods, witches out to cook kids, girls trapped in mirrors (say her name, I dare ya), a dude dropping sand in my eyes to give me dreams, and Big Foot hiding in the mountains.   Half a world a way, it shouldn’t be surprising, they grow up with other things.  That’s where YOKAI ATTACK! comes into play.

Just as my examples are historical to urban legend, so are the monsters in this book.  And just like my examples, some are menacing and some are nothing to worry about.  But, this book just doesn’t tell you about the monsters.  This is “The Japanese Monster Survival Guide,” so it tells you how to deal with them too.

This book is fabulous.  Be you an anime lover that wants to add to their Japanese knowledge… (Because pausing to read the fine print, if they even bother with fine print, totally sucks.)  Be you a writer looking for new/different/interesting creatures to add to your tale…  Be you a lover of knowledge or getting to know other cultures…  Be you any of those things, I think you’ll agree with me!

PS- My favorite is probably the yuki-onna (snow woman).

Do you have a favorite monster?

Categories: Reading | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “I Read Yokai Attack!

  1. I have never read anime. I don’t know why, I love Ninja flicks! (Kung Fu Fighting, plays in my head as I write.) Favorite monster? Mine tend to be natural predators, such as the sharks and gators that live around here. Not very imaginative I know, but terrifying just the same. But, I’m pretty sure there’s a swamp monster that lives in the bayou near my childhood home. It really likes the taste of poodles.

    • Anime isn’t always for everyone. But, I always maintain there’s at least one anime (series or movie) that a person can like. Like the one country song a person that doesn’t like country likes. If you like Kung Fu stuff, I *really* suggest you check out NINJA ATTACK! I think you’d like it. And it isn’t unimaginative! Sometimes real “monsters” can be the scariest.

Leave a Reply

