Summer Vlogging vs Blogging

One of my not so brilliant last summer post ideas was "postcards" like this one.

One of my not-so-brilliant last summer post ideas was “postcards” like this one.

In summer, my days are spent with my kids.  My usual writing time (mornings) becomes long walks at the park, family reading time (the only time you’ll find my house quiet), and cleaning time (with them home it’s easier to do little bits every day rather than large chunks twice/thrice a week).  My writing time becomes scarce and consists of two hours of #writeclub on Twitter (Fridays) and usually one morning a week (kids sleepover at Grandpa’s/husband is at work).  Though, I can usually fit in a page of edits a day, but it isn’t the same.

When it comes to life, I think I got my priorities straight.  (And I’m proud of that.)  However, when it came to my writing time and blog during last summer, I think I got a lot wrong.

Last summer I blogged a lot.  It ate a good amount of my writing time (that one morning every week, usually).  A good portion of it was also inane.  To sum it up: I feel that what I did back then was not successful.

Summer here.

Summer here.

So, I spent a lot of time thinking about it.  My first thought was I wanted to preserve as much as I could of my writing time for writing. I lost hours to blog posts last summer.  Those hours could have been short stories.  My second thought was that I didn’t want to go blog silent.  Even though that’s the easiest solution, I didn’t want to take it.  And my last thought on this was I wanted it to mean more than it did last year.

Eventually, I came up with a solution.  I decided that once a week I could release something I prepared ahead of time.  That something (after much debate) came to be vlogs.  As I decided what to vlog about, I came up with a summer posting schedule.  Without further stalling, here’s what I’m doing this summer.

June 4: [Blog] My Summer Goals
Before I got radio silent I want to share what I hope to accomplish this summer with the time these vlogs will give me.

June 11, 18, 25, & July 2, 9: [Vlogs] Small Towns
This is a writing aide of sorts.  I address a pet peeve I’ve been developing regarding reading I’ve been doing.  Hopefully, it helps and inspires other writers.

July 16: Silence or [Blog] Summer Update 
I want to give a break before I start in on the second set of vlogs.  This would be about the half way point of summer, so it could be a good time for an update.  It all depends on how things are going and what kind of time I have on my hands.

July 23, 30 & August 6, 13, 20: [Vlogs] Short Stories
This is to fill in some gaps on my website.  I hope it turns out a success and works.  Figured it was worth a shot.

August 27: Silence or [Blog] Summer Wrap Up 
I’m not sure if I’ll be recovering from my kids (they’ll probably be back in school by then) or up to letting you know how summer went.  I’ll either sum it up this day or wait for September when all will return to “normal.”

How do you plan to spend your summer?

Categories: Experience | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

