WIPpet Wednesday: Quite interesting, isn’t it?

Mini Update:
Apparently, if I don’t drink coffee in the morning, I have about 3-4 hours to get what I want done, done.  As for the rest of the time in the day, it will be spent being “too tired” to do anything or napping (snores included).  That’s what happened Saturday (when I was supposed to visit all the awesome WIPpeteers that visited me last week) and Tuesday (yesterday).  And it has to be morning, as drinking it at lunch doesn’t undo the damage.  Seriously, my body is f-ing weird!  That said, I’ll be moving my WIPpet visits to Friday as I always drink coffee that day without fail.  So, I shouldn’t fail to visit anyone again!

~*~*~*~

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 5/14/14.  Today I want to share from page 21, so we’ll take the month (5) and the day(14) and separate the numbers.  5 x 4 + 1 = page 21.  That leaves us the year (14), which we’ll add together. 1 + 4 = 5 paragraphs.

What’s My WIPpet?
GRANDMA is the code name for my MG novel.  Lizzie has entered Grandma’s room and has found the strangeness continues.

This Week’s WIPpet
I could barely see the hardwood floors under all the plants that weren’t plants.  The fern immediately in front of me was a great example.  It looked like a fern in shape, but it was all wrong in color and make up.  It was red, yellow, and speckled with white fuzziness, just like carpet.  In fact, I pretty sure it was the carpeting had come from the area rug Grandma kept at the foot of her bed.

It wasn’t just that plant.  A bush was made of Grandma’s blue plaid bed sheets.  Silk pillows Grandma used to decorate her bed were now flowers.  The lace curtains had become vines that climbed the really tall ceiling of the bedroom.  Everything was like that!

Well, almost everything.

A single quilt remained the same, untouched.  It was sprawled across the bed and across my grandmother.

She greeted me with a large smile and her gaze flicked around the room, looking at all the things I just had.  “Quite interesting, isn’t it?”

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Quite interesting, isn’t it?

  1. Oh, wow! Well, I wasn’t expecting that. I’m glad Grandma is okay, at least for the time being. I wonder how a fern grew out of an area rug?!

  2. I’m not sure Grandma is okay lol This reminds me of the fly…bear with me. When they go into the transporter and then the become half of each other becuase everything gets mixed up in it. That’s what reminds me of it. Interesting. I really do wonder how it’s going to all get fixed and why it’s like this.

    • Adrian, I’ll tell you your hunch is right. Something is up with Grandma, but what it is I’ll reveal as soon as we get to the page it is on.

  3. Very interesting. I love that the former furnishings have taken on plant shapesadd if a jungle decided to form itself out of whatever material was available. This story is really shaping up well.

  4. kathils

    Grandma seems awfully calm for someone laying in the midst of all that. She’s either petrified, in charge of it all, or in the acceptance mode.

    • Grandma is a bit of a hippy/new ager. Maybe a bit Tao and Zen too. Though, she’s been up a while and had time to process everything. She came up with a theory (later one she’ll share it with the kids and they won’t agree).

  5. well, yes, I’d call that quite interesting! This is a fun excerpt!

  6. Great description! Raises great questions in the readers mind too — as you can tell fromt he responses you’ve gotten already. 🙂

    • The responses are great. It really helps boost my morale when I go to work on this. This is in its first round of edits and I do edits ever so slow (not my favorite/easiest part). So, it gets disheartening at times. But, sharing this with the WIPpeteers has kept me going stronger than usual. 🙂

  7. This is lovely Gloria. I think it’s great and so unusual, the way you describe the plants being made up of things in Grandma’s house. Fantastic imagery.

  8. This is cute. Grandma is definitely in her own little world here. Though… I’m not sure I’d want to be in it. 🙂

    • There’s being calm in a situation and then there’s Grandma. And no way would I want to visit her house in this state!

Leave a Reply

