WIPpet: A Normal Entry Way

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 5/7/14.  My habit of going through the pages in order takes the 5 (month) and multiplies it with the 5 (from 14/the year).  That’s page 20.  Which leaves us 7 (day) and 1 (rest of year). 7 – 1 = 6 sentences.

What’s My WIPpet?
This is yet again GRANDMA, my MG novel.  Once this entry way was filled by a strange tree.  To avoid spoilers, I jump to this part.

This Week’s WIPpet
George and I looked around. We saw a normal entry way: various closed doors and doorways, a normal staircase, and on the walls we saw smudged colors that, if we squinted, resembled a tree.

Panting for breath after our battle I looked down at George. He wasn’t as worn out as me. Without words we both knew what we wanted to do next.

I got to Grandma’s bedroom door first.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.
~*~*~*~
Mini Update

Since I’m not doing the WIPs list/updates anymore I figured I should do something.  I came up with a mini update.  Just a few lines on life and/or writing.

If you caught it on Sunday, I said I’d work on the vlogs Monday and Thursday, which is actually not how it will actually be.  Thursday is my first “play day” that I get every other week.  Part of me wants to skip the playing, as I always tend to do… “But I could get so much done if I don’t!”  However, I’m doing my best to stick with the having fun.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “WIPpet: A Normal Entry Way

  1. kathils

    Playing is important. No skipping it. (Says the Queen of skipping it in favor of…but…but…but…)

    oooh, they’re getting closer! Tension is building. I can’t wait until they find grandma. Although, I get the feeling it won’t be exactly what they think…

    • The guilt giving myself fun time gives me is very overwhelming. However, the insanity all work and no play gives me is hard to reverse! At least I can work off guilt.

      Grandma is so close they can almost hug her. But, of course, things are not going to be easy.

  2. I don’t think they’ll find what they’re expecting at all!

  3. Finally! But what will they find when they get to Grandma? I sense something’s coming…

  4. I like the description: smudged colors that, if we squinted, resembled a tree. Nice job!! Enjoy your play day!

  5. I like the colors that resemble a tree. Very nice touch. Let’s hope Grandma is where they expect her to be.

  6. Grandma’s door, eh? Why do I picture a portal to another dimension? (It could be because my son is obsessed with all things “Aperture Science” and the video game portal, but…. it could be something else too.)

    Definitely make some time to play. Play is good. So are naps. and bananas… bananas are good. Oh and bowties.

    • A portal would have been an interesting choice come the next scene, but it isn’t. You come up with some interesting could have dones for me. 🙂

      Bow ties are cool.

  7. Gloria! I love that this is a MG. I’m always looking for cool reads to share with my son. Nice excerpt! Can’t wait to see what will happen!

    • I share reads with my kids as well. It makes for some nice dinner conversations when we have all read the book. 🙂

  8. Ooh, now they’ve made it this far are they going to like what’s on the other side of that door?

    • Rainbows and puppies! Of course that’s a lie. More adventure and problems! This book is only getting started. MUAH HA HA HA!

  9. Oooh this is exciting. I’m with Emily – I want to know what’s behind that door! But it may be something bad… Still, go on and show us what’s behind the door!

Leave a Reply

