The Power of Glasses

ROW80

5/4 Check-In

This past week has been pretty good.

In general life stuff:  I instituted my new schedule and things are going well with it.  I also got new reading glasses.  That’s something I’ve been without for the past 15 years.  You’d be amazed what not squinting does for my concentration levels. (Take that A.D.D!)  I finally cut my hair.  For a whole 2 minutes I tried to do something inspired by 90’s TLC’s T-Boz… It was a really bad idea, so I’ve got my usual cut.  On Monday I was surprised when my son told me he had off Friday (I’ve been on top of these things lately).  But, yeah they did.  It only messed with my schedule a little bit.

In writer life stuff: I finished Cycle 2 Phase 2 (editing) this week.  I took off my customary day between switching Cycles (that’s when I cut my hair).  I started Cycle 2 Phase 3 (other writer stuff), which consists of me working on my 2 summer vlog series.  I really didn’t register just how much work the one series would be, but I’m sticking by the idea.

My goals also went well.

Do not neglect your need for glasses like I did!

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast)  3/4 – Kids had off Friday.
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) 3/4 – Kids had off Friday.
Read 25+ pages 55/25 pages – GLASSES ARE AWESOME!
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In For the Sunday check-in I visited 5 people and for Wednesday’s I did 2. 

Before Round Ends
Finish Writing Cycle 2 (Phases 2 [DONE] & 3 [On]) and a complete Cycle 3.  To end current cycle I want to have the summer vlogs entirely done.  I can’t promise myself I’ll do it Cycle 3 Phase 3, as I’m starting to doubt I’ll make it there before June comes.
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) One of the things on my list is to rip the carpet out of my hallways… Well, my vacuum broke, so we were all “guess now is as good a time as any” and decided to de-carpet the whole upstairs.  However, the people that renovated this house before us…  There are complications.
Write Kid’s Chore List, Summer Review, and Spanish Lessons [DONE] Finished this up on Wednesday. 
Write My Schedule Adjustments, Japanese Review, and More [DONE]  The “More” was setting summer goals and finding time for something I hadn’t had time for.  When I reworked my schedule I fixed that.
Get Kids’ Summer Journals
Maybe this shopping trip?

This week, I’ll continue tackling the vlogs Monday and Thrusday.  On Wednesday I’ll edit more of GRANDMA and Friday I’ll likely add words to MEOW. (Those are code names for WIPs.)

Got any summer plans in the works?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “The Power of Glasses

  1. I love how you have code names for your WIPs. 😀

    Awesome on the new glasses!

    Looks like you did exceptionally well this week. Congrats!

    • I’ve heard conflicting advice from people on whether you should share titles or even snippets. I still haven’t settled on my feelings on this. I take part in WIPpet Wednesday and share titles as code names to figure it all out.

      Also, I suck at titling, so having a placeholder name helps. 😉

      Thanks for stopping by, Erin!

  2. Reading glasses. I’m wondering when that day is coming. Maybe lasik can take care of it?

    I also suck at titling, so code names seem a natural thing to do to me. I could see maybe not sharing titles, since they’re hard enough, but snippets, meh. It’s hard enough to write your own story. Why make that much effort stealing the work of someone else (I’m guessing that’s the downside?).

    • The bit about not sharing snippets was advised by agents (in around the 2010’s) saying traditional pub houses would be less interested since part of it is out for free. Originally, the comments were aimed at those that put their first two chapters up on blogs and websites, but some agents then got on the whole “don’t put any amount up even a paragraph.” Honestly, I was never really sure why.

Leave a Reply

