Chicken Momentum

ROW80

4/13 Check-In

For over a year (maybe more), I have wanted pet chickens (two to be exact).  Only, I heard it time and time again from my husband and my father-in-law.  “You can’t have them in the city limits.”  (I’ll reserve my beef with this place being called a city for another time.)

I’d thought I’d have to wait the two more years until we started looking for a new house (our ideal spot being the township/outside of city limits, but still part of this “city”).  However, one thing led to another and I looked up our city ordinances.  Nowhere does it say no chickens or anything like that.  It just says your pets can’t be noise nuisances.  Oh, and you can’t dye or sell dyed poultry in our city limits either.

Now, this doesn’t mean I’m getting chickens.  My husband and I are going to verify my findings.  Then, (if it is still go) I can start work on preparing for my chickens.  Just like I did for my hamster, I’ll pay for the preparations from my writing sales.  Only, it cost me like $50 to prep for Queenie (the hamster)…  This is a much bigger undertaking.

With this goal in mind, you’d think I’d be ready to work.  The goal is a bit overwhelming, to be honest.  And all I have to do this Cycle (edit short story/send out, edit Closure, gender swap project, & edit more of GRANDMA) added even more feelings overwhelming pressure.  Even though I was working on these projects, for most the week I felt like I was trying to move forward, but had my feet glued to the ground.

Thankfully, Friday I stop pressuring myself and that’s when I started making some good progress. Anyways, enough jabbering.  Here’s a look at my goals.

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) 4 / 4
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) 4 / 4
Read 25+ pages 61 / 25 pages – all on KEEPING PET CHICKENS
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In I don’t normally comment on goals posts or count them as a check-in, but did 1. For the Wednesday check-in I commented on 3 blog posts.  

Before Round Ends
Finish Writing Cycles 2.2 <-I’m on this cycle, 3.2, 1.3, 2.3, & 3.3 To end current cycle I want to edit/send out NERITE [DONE 4/10], reach 50% mark in GRANDMA [not much to report], edit CLOSURE [50%], & gender swap character [started].
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) Haven’t even made the list yet, but have new ideas on how to approach it.
Write Kid’s Chore List, Summer Review, and Spanish Lessons I haven’t started the chores, but thought about them. Started both the review and lessons – 30% done. 
Write My Schedule Adjustments, Japanese Review, and More I finished my Japanese review materials. Didn’t start anything else.
Get Kids’ Summer Journals
Not yet.

Next week, my kids’ school will be changing their schedule so that they’ll be in school 30 minutes more each day (rather than extend the school year into summer).  The kids also have off Friday.  How this will impact my writing, we’ll have to see.  I’d like CLOSURE done by next check-in.  Actually, I want more than that, but pressure makes for stuck feet.

Is there a pet you wish you had?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Chicken Momentum

  1. I saw a post somewhere, someone had taken the frame of a old swingset, put the chicken wire around it, installing a little door and presto, chicken coop. I think it’s ridiculous if chickens are banned. Especially if individuals have yards. I could understand for a limited space apartment complex, but at the end of the day it should mostly be up to the owners. Of course, I’m a ‘stay out of my business government’ kind of gal anyway. 😉

    • Oh, that sounds like a great way to make a chicken coop &/or run. I have a swing set too, but I promised it to someone already! (Kids out grew it.) Then again, the area my swing set takes up is smaller than I intend/want to make the coop/run. (I picked out a spot that is big and good!)

      I can understand for animal safety/health and like the noise (neighbors need to be considerate), but other than that… Yeah. Let people do it.

  2. Congrats on all the great progress on your goals, Gloria. Have I already asked you about your language learning goals? I’m curious about why (just for fun?) and how you’re approaching it. I have a goal to speak 7 languages fluently before I die. Have started on German this year and am using the Duolingo app, which I actually like quite a bit.

    • The simplest way to answer your question is to say I’m a fan of Japanese entertainment.

      However, there was a catalyst/last straw behind it. I got serious about learning it because of dating sim games. They are video games that are like choose your own adventure books, but with the object of having love for your character by the end. Not many of these exist in the US market (MATCHES AND MATRIMONY is one that is based on Jane Austen’s works). Japan a lot of them (I’ve heard awesome things about the STARRY SKY series).

      When you combine those games with manga, anime, movies, and dramas that never get translated/imported… I felt I was missing out on so much! My solution to that was to learn Japanese (ever so slowly).

      You know what there’s an even simpler answer than my first one. I’m such a geek. 😉

Leave a Reply

