WIPpet Wednesday: George’s Hands

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 4/9/2014.  9 + 4 + 4 = Page 17.  We’ll add 2 + 1 = 3… You know what? Make that 4 paragraphs, since I took a sentence away last week.

What’s My WIPpet?
Again, my MG novel, GRANDMA.  Lizzie and George, her cousin, have reunited!  No longer is the tree keeping them apart. (Though, they are still cut off from Grandma.)  BTW, it wasn’t easy.

This Week’s WIPpet
His hands looked terrible. And here I was worried earlier about my knee bruising? “Does it hurt as much as I think it does?”

“Probably half as much,” he said. “Dad made me take boxing, because of some movie with a guy and running up stairs… Whatever, but it taught me how to throw a punch that didn’t hurt that bad. But then again, when I did that, I wore gloves.”

“I thought you took pottery lessons,” I said. Aunt Mary had been going on about a candy dish the night before during dinner. I was shocked that George would be into such a thing. He looked more like a football player than a bowl maker.

“Yeah. I do, because mom thought boxing was too violent.” He rubbed his hand gently as he looked at the damage.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~
My WIPs
Click Link For Explanation

TJ – The flawed project. Will read over Cycle 2.3.
Closure – An un-abandoned  project. Working on it.
Grandma – MG novel.  Working on it.
Meow – A chapter book.  Waiting on Cycle 1.3 to continue.
Dating – Short story 2 of this year. Will start Cycle 1.3.
Dream – Fun project. Waiting for Cycle 1.3.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: George’s Hands

  1. I LOL’d at George’s explanation for his boxing lessons. Glad the tree isn’t still separating them, but poor Grandma! I hope they get to her soon.

    • I promise they’ll make it to Grandma! I’m not sure how much more they have to go. (I’m working on a different part of the story.)

      Glad to make you LOL 😀

  2. kathils

    Pottery and boxing…now there’s a combination! Throw a punch. Throw a pot. 😉 I was terrible at throwing anything on the wheel, and I’m not much better in the punching department. Sounds as though George did well enough in each, though.

    • I always wanted to try using a pottery wheel. Any clay work I’ve done (in school or private lessons) has been build & bake, no wheel. 😦

      George is doing well enough in his pottery classes, but he’s digging it less than boxing (he’ll never tell his mom that).

  3. Hmm, I get the feeling in this piece that George is older than I thought he was. He’s coming off (to me, as someone about 14 or so). Still, had to laugh about the Rocky reference… when I was pregnant for my son, I had an mp3 of the theme from the original movie (Gonna Fly Now), and my son would bounce and kick and dance so much in my belly… It’s still one of his favorite songs.

  4. lol love that the parents want him to do different things so he ends up doing both. So true of what happens sometimes!

    • A background detail not revealed is that this has been happening to George all his life. Since he hasn’t found something he really likes, he lets his parents keep changing his after school activity.

Leave a Reply

