ROW80 Round 2 2014 Goals

WednesdayStraight to business!  I wanted to be done NERITE (short story) by now.  I’m not, because I was 700 words over my goal.  I have cut nearly 200, but there’s still more to go.

My between round time was filled with the kids’ spring break (which I planned horribly for) and having our old car decide it would rather dump gas on the ground than take it into its tank (thus we had to get a new one).  I’m so glad it is Monday.  School’s back in session and the start of a new round really energizes me.  But, man I have a lot to do this round.  I need to get to work!

Every Week
Review Grammar (breakfast) & Study Japanese (lunch) 4 Days – This worked great last round for me.  I’ll be doing it again.
Read 25+ pages – When I feel short on time, the first thing I sacrifice is reading.  The past 2 months, it has been sacrificed a lot.  This is to ensure some happens every week.
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – This has been working for me. Though I want to tweak it, I am going to wait until round 3 for that.

140331_002

In case you missed it, this is our new car! It is a ’03 Subaru Forester.

Before Round Ends
Finish Writing Cycles 2.2, 3.2, 1.3, 2.3, & 3.3 – Basically, I want to do two passes of edits and “other writing” and one writing pass.  Summer schedule will be different, because it has to be.
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – I’m trying to get stuff I neglect, like washing the curtains.  
Write Kid’s Adjusted Chore List, Summer Math Review, and Spanish Lessons – I had a great summer last year with my kids and this is building off some of the things we did.   I’m just prepping a few things more ahead of time.
Write My Schedule Adjustments, Japanese Review, and More – Last summer I adjusted my schedule and dropped the ball on all other “extra” things. This summer, I hope to not drop the ball on as much stuff.
Get Kids’ Summer Journals – This is the key ingredient for summer.  We just can’t do summer without it, so I put it here. Now, I won’t be likely to forget it.

I’ll be doing Sunday check-ins again.  I’m currently on Cycle 2.2. That means editing/sending out NERITE, editing CLOSURE, and editing to 50% mark on GRANDMA. It would be nice if I had it all done by Sunday.  However, I doubt it.  Aiming for 2 out of 3 of those done, though.

Edit: Forgot that I’m also gender swapping a character in an otherwise finished manuscript.

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “ROW80 Round 2 2014 Goals

  1. Congrats on the new car. I’ve heard good things about Subaru, so I hope yours works out wonderfully. Good luck with this round, Gloria! 🙂

    • Thanks. 🙂

      When I said in your goals post’s comments that something always comes up when we try to save it is stuff like what happened here with the car. We save money for emergencies every year, and it always gets used. Thankfully, the car turned out $0 down, so we have it still for this year. Last year, we bought the car we just replaced (we’re a 1 car family too) and had a sewer back up. Maybe one year, we’ll still have the emergency money and we’ll take a family trip.

Leave a Reply

