Who is Dave?

Today is World Autism Awareness Day, which kicks off Autism Awareness Month.  Autism is something that is still very much a mystery, but we’re unraveling with awareness and research.  However, in my house there is a mystery that may never be solved.

Who is Dave?

I got really into recipes and cooking after my husband I quit smoking.  This made my kids get interested in recipes.  Oh, the things they created.  Many “I don’t think that would work out good”s were uttered.  There was one exception.

One night, my daughter and my son were in his room, before bed, making recipes.  When my husband and I went to get my daughter out of there and into her bed, she told us we should look at my son’s latest recipe.  We looked at it.  For the first time ever, one of their creations sounded yummy!  But, after we noticed that, we noticed the name.

Dave Sandwich

Pink Sauce is mayonnaise and ketchup mixed together. Sometimes we add a dash of mustard and/or horseradish to mix and call it Deluxe Pink Sauce.  If it gets too thick, we loosen it with lemon juice.

“Who is Dave?”  We ask our son that every time we eat it.  He just laughs.  Sometimes you think he’s going to answer, but it is usually “he’s a person” style answer or (even worse) “it’s a secret.”

While we never may find out about this Dave fellow, I hope we do find out more about autism.  Then again, unlocking the secrets of autism could unlock something in my son and we’ll finally get an answer.

My son is a 12 year old, 6th grader.
He’s been diagnosed with high functioning
autism since he was three and a half.
He has social, emotional, and speech delays.
Last year, he learned to tie his shoes and
ride a bicycle.  This year, he has made his
first-ever, real friends and has maintained
a straight A average in regular classes.

Categories: Random | Tags: , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Who is Dave?

  1. 🙂 This post made me smile…

Leave a comment