2014 Round 1 End of Round Report

ROW80If round 1 had a super villain for me, it was snow.  Or, perhaps, better put: Snow Days.  It wasn’t until February that I got the hang of how to deal with them.    But, there were so many in January that things were already a bit blah!  I had expected to be done two complete Writing Cycles by this point.  Tuesday, I finished only the first part of my second go around.

Through it all, I kept up with my other new plan, sticker rewards.  When I first conceived the stickers, part of me wanted a sticker for all the things I do regularly. Though, I made myself go down to three.  I find myself sticking with the three, but wanting to go back to the idea of stickers for all the things (housework, studying, visiting blogs, and so on).  Not sure what I’ll do, but will decide by April 1st.

The only other thing to report is about my standing desk.  It has cut a lot of “crap” time from my computer use.  By “crap” I mean endlessly watching videos, reading web comics, and other “fun” things that often acted as a distraction to my writing.  That’s great for my writing, but when I’m in the mood to draw digitally and tired since it is the end of my day: Not Cool.  Not sure what I want to do about this “situation.”

But, what are most people really here for?  The goals break down.

Blizzard

My Nemesis!

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) Not a lot of the time, but through no fault of my own.  This suffered not just from Snow Days, but 2 hour delays (as kids were here for my breakfast).  When I could do it, I did it.

Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) Same as Grammar, but done on days where there were 2 hour delays, so a little more than Grammar.

Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In I didn’t do it perfectly.  At the very least, I think I managed at least 2 for one of the check-ins.  But, I think I did the visits for the most part.

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story I wrote NERITE and gave it one pass through edits. Not “finished,” but pretty far along.

131028_001

Do you have a suggestion for my standing desk issue? (This is my current set up.)

Write 10,000 Words On TJ/MEOW Originally, this was supposed to be just TJ. When that project fell short on words, I added MEOW.  I got 10,264/10,000 | 102.6%.  But, those weren’t the only words I wrote this round.  In total, I wrote 27,976 words across 5 WIPs. 

Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) I wanted to get some things I’ve been meaning to do done and I did the bare minimum, even after having hopes of doing more.  5/5

It wasn’t a bad round.  Lots of outside forces were at play.  I did pretty good with the time I had.  (That’s what I keep telling myself.)

Between rounds, primarily Friday and Monday, I hope to edit NERITE and send it off to my Beta readers (at latest April 1st –  hope they don’t think it is a joke).  The submission deadline for that is getting close.  But, today I’m taking the day off, as I earned it for finishing Cycle 1.2.

Does your writing life have a super villain?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , , | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “2014 Round 1 End of Round Report

  1. Gloria,

    One of my favorite things (and sometimes, the biggest challenge), is that the kids are with me, most of the time. I get the occasional Tuesday Daddy Night (dependent on weather, energy levels, and when people are sleeping – that, without the need of bedtimes, and with the sudden growth spurts of the journey into puberty, is always a variable…it’s almost 12:30pm here, and both are asleep. But one was awake until after 4am, and the other was awake at 5:30am..).I have no idea how long they’ll sleep, or what kind of energy level they’ll awaken with…but I can be pretty sure they’ll be here, where I am…

    Usually, my solution is to have a range of projects; some that require less focus, and others more, so that I can work on something whenever there’s time; but I won’t be so involved I can’t stop at times the kids are likely to need me, or just want to hang out.

    For your standing desk….hmmmn, any chance you could get a laptop to tote to your favorite couch or chair when you wanted to relax with your computer at the end of the day? Or maybe a cantilevered shelf, that could sink down to sitting height, if a laptop isn’t in the cards right now?

    Me, I would move the plant. Nothing personal; I just stabbed myself in the eye with a tall potted plant once (graceful,me? Uh, no.) and it’s giving me flashbacks!

    It looks like you did very, very well, considering! And, hopefully, the snow days are past, for a while. =)

    • Hello, Shan! 🙂 For the most part, the lack of progress in January was definitely due to stubbornness. “I’m supposed to be working on X, and I can’t. All hope of writing is lost for today!” When I decided that needed to change, I did find a few less focus projects (to paraphrase you) I could interrupt my current work with.

      Sadly, neither of those $20 or less solutions. They require long term finance arranging and a new car is currently priority in that. And the plant must stay there, at least until warmer weather. It used to sit on the filing cabinet behind me, but it grew like two feet over last summer. It doesn’t poke me in the eyes, but it does often get the back of my head. LOL

      I’m really hoping the snow is done with. But, we are still getting white flakes falling from the sky (thankfully at most it is trace amounts) in the forecast. Until it is 50F for a week, I am not holding my breath. 😉

  2. Snow and cold weather in general are also my nemesis (nemeses?). I get the winter blues every winter without fail, and it just saps my energy, making it hard to get things done. I can imagine it’s also hard if you have kids and the schools are closed or delayed–that probably makes planning your weeks/days even harder. Still, you did great, Gloria. Congrats!

    My hubby had a standing desk for a while, but he finally dismantled it. I think it’s a great idea. I’ve been thinking about setting my laptop on the coffee table and trying to sit on my exercise ball to break up my hours sitting at the computer. It’s not exactly a standing desk, but it would be a step in the right direction.

    • Thanks, Denise!

      I think I’ve had the standing desk set up for about 3-4 months now. I think they are a great asset, but there definitely has to be an alternative/sitting possibility for 8pm at night or even sick days. I think your exercise ball is a good “healthy sitting” option, especially since (unlike me) you aren’t married to that set up. Though, to be honest, my holy grail for a writing desk set up is a walking desk. I’d definitely need an alternate writing station then. No way could I draw and walk. 😉

      • Does a walking desk involve a treadmill? If so, I don’t think I could do it.I would get dizzy and fall over, most likely. I’m going to try the exercise ball today and see how it works out! 🙂

        • It does indeed involve a treadmill. You are supposed to use it at a super slow setting like 1mph. I never considered the whole possibly getting dizzy from it. I (mis)spent my high school years in marching band, so I have that whole keep the lower half moving and the upper half steady/not bobbing thing down.

          Hope your exercise ball works out. 😀

  3. My super-villain right now is definitely the Big Fat Translation!

    Congrats on the goals you accomplished, and see you next round!

    • Thanks, Ruth. 😀

      That translation has definitely been tagging along with you. But, I know you’ll slay it in a masterful way.

      May the next round be super villain free for us! See you there!

  4. My writing super villain is currently deciding whether or not to split a book in half when the second half of the book is what really motivated me to write in the first place and knowing that the second half would become book 3 and book 2 is… That’s the super villain. I know I’ll get it figured out, but it’s definitely a struggle through. Splitting books has done my stories good before, so I’m trying to be cool and patient, but still! 😉

Leave a Reply

