Knotted Up

ROW80

3/23 Check-In

On Tuesday, my daughter came home with a birthday party invitation. The way I reacted you’d think she came home with a letter stating there was a serial murderer on the loose.  I know it is a stupid thing to freak out about, but we all have quirks.  I just get very worried and a bit scared when it comes to meeting/dealing with new people.  (I don’t know the family throwing this party for my daughter’s schoolmate.  Heck, I’ve never even been to the place the party is at.  So much new!)

But, I don’t let that stop me.  I face my fear whenever possible.  However, that doesn’t stop the stress and the stress does take a toll on my energy levels.  My concentration was also crap as my A.D.D. took doom scenarios and ran with them.  Not to mention it really knotted up my stomach and caused insomnia.

Being strong is hard.

SAM_0253

This one in particular loved that I walked so much this week.

The side effects of being strong caused a decrease in stickers this week.  Though, I did earn quite a few Tinkerbells (exercise), as I used walks as a coping mechanism.  My dogs loved that!  And I’m still on Cycle 1.2 as I  lost all ability to write at the end of the week.  But, I’m real close on reaching the Cycle goal of 5 and finishing side project CLOSURE.  I’m hoping before the round is done, I’ll do just that.  Not much round left, but this [] close!

Time For Goals Update!
Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) – 4. But minimal done during stressing out time.
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) – 4. Again did less than usual due to stress.
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – Visited 3 ROWers on Monday and 0 due to freaking out on Thursday.

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story – Still needs more edits.  May not finish before end of round. 
Write 10,000 Words On TJ/MEOW – 9,696/10,000 | 96.9% done 
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – 5/5  

Now that the party has happened, I should be back to normal.  (As normal as I ever am.)  So, before this round ends, I’m going to try to get CLOSURE done and get those last few words to close out Cycle 1.2.  Hopefully, that way between rounds I can start Cycle 2.2 and put all my focus into getting NERITE (short story) edited and out to my beta readers.

Do you have a favorite place to take a walk?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , | 9 Comments

Post navigation

9 thoughts on “Knotted Up

  1. Ermahgerd! Birthder perty! 🙂

    • More than once during the period of freaking out I said, “I know this is stupid. But, knowing it is stupid doesn’t stop me from feeling this way!” I really wish it did, though. In the end, the mom was real nice and my daughter had a good time. It was lots of worry over nothing.

  2. You’ve done very well this round! No more sweating over a little sweating this week. 😉 Finish strong! Excited to cross the finish line with you!

  3. I know how you feel about the anxiety about meeting new people/going strange places. I get edgy before trips because part of me just hates leaving my routine, even if it’s for something fun.

    I’m glad your daughter had a good time and good on you for facing your fear!

  4. The woods where I grew up are still my favorite place to walk and connect with nature, but there’s also a small park with a pond on the campus near where I live, so locally that’s one of my go-to places. I like seeing the ducks and people-watching while I’m there.

    I have a lot of social anxiety, too, so I sympathize. Congrats on facing your fear!

    • Your reply reminded me… When I was young I used to go into these grouping of trees, even though I wasn’t allowed to (too small to be woods, about one city block all around). I used to play there lots. I looked it up on Google Maps a few years back and they got turned into houses or an office complex. But, we moved when I was in 5th grade and I lost having a place like that to go.

      I rediscovered the goodness of walking last summer, when I took my kids to the state park by our house. I hope to do lots of walking this summer with them again this year.

      And thank you. It is nice to knowing when someone understands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

