WIPpet Wednesday: Do you hear them?

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 3/19/2014.  The page is our year: ’14.  Our amount is sentences in the form of the month + day (3 + 19 = 22).  Simplest math i’ve done in a while.

What’s My WIPpet?
Surprise!  It is my MG novel, GRANDMA.  (Shouldn’t be a surprise.) You need a bit of a set up for this.  George and Lizzie started going up the sloped branches (where the stairs would be).  The tree didn’t like this and started surrounding and separating them with its branches.

This Week’s WIPpet

“George, do you hear me?”

The pounding grew fiercer.  He called my name, over and over again.

His reaction made me confused.  It made tears start to well up in my eyes.  I was starting to lose all sense.

Then, I heard it faintly.  Between the beating of his fist and when he took a deep breath, I heard it.

“Lizzie?”

I couldn’t believe my ears.  “George, stop it!”

He didn’t, though.

But, I heard something else with his next breath.  “George?”

So much softer than his calls.  But, they were there.  I knew I was hearing them.  And of course I would!  On the other side of the wall to my left, on the second floor, that was her room.

I wasn’t hearing things.  I was hearing her.  And she was asking, “Are you two here?”

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~
My WIPs
Click Link For Explanation

TJ – The flawed project. It’s chilling.  Will read over during cycle 2.3.
Nerite – Short story for my resolution.  Will hopefully get Beat Reader ready by end of cycle 2.2.
Closure – An un-abandoned  project. Closing in on end.
Grandma – MG novel.  Still in edits.
Meow – A chapter book.  Started.
Dating – Short story 2 of this year. Waiting for CLOSURE to be finished before starting.
Dream – Fun project. Same as DATING.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 19 Comments

Post navigation

19 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Do you hear them?

  1. This is getting so crazy! In a good way. 🙂

  2. Oh my goodness! Well, that was tense. I’m really enjoying this, and that was a nicely creepy moment.

    • I’m not sure if I was aiming for creepy, but it being creepy doesn’t work against it.

      • I don’t know, something about the voice from behind the tree, and being trapped in there. Though now I can’t decide whether it would be creepier to be on the inside or the outside!

        • I can see it now that it is pointed out. But, initially, it caught me by surprise how it was found creepy. I think I was more focused on the panic, helplessness, and desperation both Lizzie and George are feeling right now.

  3. (O_O) It’s Boogie Grandma! *shudders* Want more! 😛

  4. kathils

    This is sounding like something I wouldn’t want to read at night. If I have dreams about crazy trees now, it will be your fault!

    • Sorry if you had crazy tree dreams. I didn’t intend it to be creepy. Obstacles and tension. That was my intention. Though, can’t say it being creepy hurts it. Might even help.

  5. Yikes! That is really rather creepy!

  6. Them? It was “them”? Ooh! Like it…

    • The title refers at first to Lizzie calling to George (Does he hear her?) and then Grandma calling out. No one knows if anyone hears each other. And as a writer, typing into the void, I thought it would good to ask if you hear these characters crying out to each other.

      A them would be cooler, though. 😉

  7. Is “she” grandma? I want to know what happened here, but I guess I’ll have to wait to find out, just like the characters. 🙂

  8. This is so exciting Gloria. It’s a tense scene and you’ve portrayed the fear that Lizzie is feeling well. Like ReGi, I’m wondering if ‘she’ is Grandma… 🙂

Leave a Reply

