WIPpet Wednesday: At the Front Door

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 2/26/14.  To get the page we’ll split 26 down the middle and take all the number from the right.  That means 6 + 1+ 4 = page 11.  That leaves us 2 + 2 = 4 paragraphs.

What’s My WIPpet?
I continue to share from my MG novel, GRANDMA.  Last week, there was a warning sign Lizzie ignored.  This week, she ignores George, because he doesn’t get it.

This Week’s WIPpet
“Hey!”  George was at it again.  This time he didn’t back down from the look I gave him.  “You don’t just walk into other people’s houses.”

I rolled my eyes.  “Grandma gets caught up in things.”  Like this one time, she put on a white noise machine and started doing interpretive dance to it.  Another time, she had put on headphones while sculpting because her stereo speakers had died.  And one time, she was in the bathroom because of bad shrimp.

Unhappy about having to explain, I pushed open the front door.  “That’s why the door is unlocked.  We’re expected.”

The sound I heard seconds ago stopped while I was talking to George.  With the door only a foot open, I noticed something was different.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~
My WIPs
Click Link For Explanation

TJ – The flawed project. Soon!
Nerite – Short story for my resolution.  Chilling.
Closure – An un-abandoned  project. Will be priority #1 come Cycle 1.2’s start.
Grandma – MG novel.  Still in edits.
Meow – A chapter book.  After TJ.
Dating – Short story 2 of this year. After Closure.
Dream – Fun project. After Closure.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 14 Comments

Post navigation

14 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: At the Front Door

  1. kathils

    Ahh…Grandma sounds as though she is getting to be a challenge. And now I’m left wondering what is different? Hmm??

    • Grandma is a bit weird. Like me. LOL This is the kind of person I’m convinced I’ll be like.

      And that is different. 😉 Next week I think there’s no avoiding what’s changed.

  2. Way to leave us hanging! LOL. I wonder what’s different.

    • Thanks for saying that. I’m of the opinion that if I am leaving you hanging that means I’m creating questions as I write. Questions that readers will want the answer to. And that means I’m doing it right. YAY! 🙂

  3. I’m with Lizzie. I never knocked at my Grandparents’ doors (though I knock when I go home to see my parents…hmm). Grandma here sounds creative and so very her own person. I want to be like that when I get older.

    Though… I do wonder what has changed.

    • I was doing my best to make Grandma very likable. Your words make me feel I hit that. The change will likely be unavoidably mentioned at some point. 😉

  4. Grandma’s quite the character! Interesting look at your wip here. I’m intrigued!

  5. I like the sound of Grandma. Interpretive dance indeed. So if Lizzie thinks something is different I’m intrigued.

  6. Great hook, Gloria! Now you’ll have everyone coming back next week to find out what it is. 🙂

    • If I were evil, I’d never reveal it. 😉 However, there’s not much helping it. Can’t avoid it as it is a big part of this section.

      Thank you!

  7. My Dad’s house is like that. My grandma’s? Not so much. Even though she lives in a good neighborhood, she keeps it locked all the time – and then sometimes she either doesn’t hear, or ignores, the door bell so you have to call the house to let her know you’re there lol

    • There’s no use ringing my doorbell. It is broken. But, I can totally feel your Grandma. Why answer the door when it could be a pest? (Reminds me I need to make a nice sign before those door-to-door people start this summer.)

      I live in a place you can usually leave your door unlocked, but every now and again something happens. Someone stole stuff from a neighboring relative, so we resumed locking. I figured that since Grandma lives in the woods, on a back road she would leave it unlocked.

Leave a Reply

