WIPpet Wednesday: The House

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date is 2/19.  To get the page we’ll take the 19 and add the two numbers together: 1 + 9 = Page 10.  For the amount we’ll take the month and translate that to paragraphs: 2.

What’s My WIPpet?
I’m sharing from my MG novel, GRANDMA.  The characters in the scene are George (who says and does nothing in this snippet) and Lizzie.  Lizzie just tripped in the driveway, which is unusual.  But, she had good reason. Too bad she didn’t believe it.

This Week’s WIPpet
I took a deep breath and shut my eyes for a moment. “Let’s get in the house,” I said. I said that, because I was sure it was my imagination.

I should have trusted my eyes. I shouldn’t have gone through the door. Windows shouldn’t blink.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~
My WIPs
Click Link For Explanation

TJ – The flawed project. Will finish soon, promise.
Nerite – Short story for my resolution.  Chilling.
Closure – An un-abandoned  project. Feeling slightly abandoned again.
Grandma – MG novel.  It’s turning out good, right?
Meow – A chapter book.  Outline waiting.
Dating – Short story 2 of this year. Outline waiting.
Dream – Forgot to add this one last week.  Woke up the 11th after having a dream and an outline formed in my head. I put that outline to paper. I’ll probably write it for fun, but do nothing else with it.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 11 Comments

Post navigation

11 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: The House

  1. kathils

    Windows shouldn’t blink. No. They absolutely should not! Eerie set-up here. I’m not sure I’d be brave enough to go in.

    • I wouldn’t go in either. But, like Lizzie, I wouldn’t believe my eyes, so I’d end up going in anyways.

      • kathils

        I don’t know that I’d believe my eyes either…but spooky houses scare me so I’m thinking I’d just wait outside. 😉

  2. “Windows shouldn’t blink.” Oh, my. Well, that certainly got my attention!

  3. I wasn’t sure what to expect… it sure wasn’t that!

  4. Ooh, I’d be too scared to list out all my WIPs and their statuses. Sometimes memory failure is a good thing…until I scan my manuscript folders on my computer and it all comes back to me. Oy!

    And no, windows most definitely should not blink.

    • I always referred to my WIPs like everyone would know what they are, but without a list like this they wouldn’t know. I overcame my fear of being honest about what’s up and started sharing a bit back. It also has good uses like standing as a reminder that I cannot undertake another new WIP until something else gets finished!

  5. “Windows shouldn’t blink.”

    I love that! Such an intriguing line! And now I really want to know what’s up with this house.

Leave a Reply

