A (Mostly) Reading Meme

How old are you?
I’ll let the 90’s answer this.

Not satisfied? I’m old enough.  My age is a repeater digit. I have kids. They make me feel ancient enough.  You don’t need to help them out Mr. Question.

What book are you reading?
I’m currently reading 3 books.  One has ALICE IN WONDERLAND and THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS bound together.  I’m working on reading classics.  The other is book 2 of a trilogy, 13 CURSES.  I read book 1,  13 TREASURES, over summer.  Last, but not least is YOKAI ATTACK! a book about Japanese monsters.

What are you wearing?
Nothing odd.  But, the most important thing I am wearing is shoes. After converting to a standing desk, I learned the importance of wearing the right shoes when using it for long periods of time.

OTP?
(For the old people in the audience: this is short for One True Pairing, or your favourite couple from a story.)
Honestly, I could sit here listing couples I love… Sano X Mizuki (HANA KIMI) – Makino X Domyouji (HANA YORI DANGO) – Lisa X Rick & Myria X Max (ROBOTECH) – Ed X Winry & Riza X Roy (FULLMETAL ALCHEMIST)… However, they will all be anime/manga couples.  They will all (mostly) be cannon.  I usually don’t argue with plot.  If I do argue, I don’t finish the anime/manga.  Why frustrate myself constantly and read something that I can’t root for? If they had just given me a promise of Nobu X Hachi (NANA), I might have stayed a fan.

Blogger or WordPress?
Um.  Kind of obvious, right?  I do have a blogger, but right now it is just sitting there doing nothing.

Going outside being active or staying in and reading a book?
FACT:  I spend more time reading than I do outside. I’m an indoor kind of girl.  Though, I like letting the indoors in.  The instant I can open windows and the door to the backyard I do.

What is the last book you read?
If you count graphic novels as books, VAMPIRE ACADEMY.  Book, book was WHAT DARKNESS BRINGS.

What is the book you’re going to read next?
Depends what I finish next.  If I finish the ALICE book first, it will likely be 20,000 LEAGUES UNDER THE SEA.  After 13 CURSES, I’ll go to 13 SECRETS, the last book of the series. And if it is YOKAI ATTACK! that ends next, I’ll go to USING JAPANESE SLANG or 20 MASTER PLOTS.  Though, of the 3 I think YOKAI ATTACK! will be the last one I finish.

Ebooks – yes or no?
I’m willing to buy them if that’s the only way.  I’m not against them. They’re just against my lacking-an-Ereader lifestyle.

Where do you prefer to read?
My couch.  The one by the southern windows, not the western windows.  I don’t like that couch much.  (I know they are identical couches.  They are just inches from each other.  I’m weird.  Okay?)  Basically, my couch has blankets across the back (in case I’m cold) and extra pillows (to support any reading position).  Perfection.  

Who is the last person you tweeted?
The Former Basement Troll. (I’m writing this Saturday morning, because I found time, but I hate posting on the weekends, so I waited and this sentence is getting out of hand.)  He asked me if I was having a rough morning and I replied that Fridays are always rough for me.  I do my heavy cleaning (sweeping, mopping, & tub/toilet scrubbing) on Fridays.  On this particular Friday I had the added bonus of heading out to unload son at bus stop, only to realize we all slept through a 2 hour delay notification.  I was outside needlessly!

Whose blog did you look at last?
Jae’s to get these questions.  That doesn’t count?  Then, doubt mine counts either.  After peeking at my history, turns out it was Kait Nolan’s.

Who is your favourite blogger?
How cute.  You think I can decide favorite things.  I can’t.

Who is your favourite booktuber?
I know they exist, but I have not found one that grabbed me yet.  Besides, I’m so behind on my subscriptions.  I’m living in YouTube fail.

What do you do when someone tells you reading is boring?
I give them that look. You know the look.  It could be called did-your-mama-drop-ya-on-ya-head? But, you know what I hear more often than not?  “I can’t read. It puts me to sleep.”  I hear this from my parents.  Sometimes, I’m fairly sure aliens left me with them.

Who is the last author you spoke to?
Not sure.  It was either Leigh Dragoon or Paul Jessup. I bug the ever living crap out of them. I talk to them a lot.

Who is the last person you texted?
My husband.  He’s the only person I ever text.  Actually, sometimes I text C, but that’s like “Come over, dude” or “We’re under your window watching you watch the parade.”  I should text more people.  And less creepy stuff.

Who is your all-time favourite book character?
I explained this, right?  Impossible.  Can’t have one.  Don’t have one.  If I read a series, I’ll have one (or three), but over all?   Hahahahaha!

UKYA or USYA?
Something that doesn’t suck?  I’m not that picky.  Just don’t suck.

What is your preferred drink whilst reading?
I tend not to drink and read at the same time.  Though, due to the time I tend to read and my beverage practices, it would likely be water.

If you hated reading, what would you be doing instead?
I’m in part just like Jae on this one.  I’d definitely be watching more Korean dramas.  But, not just that.  More anime!  More video games!  More things that make me sound like a 16-year-old rather than a… Nope, not age dropping.  

Though, rather than just laugh at the bad remake, with all that extra time I might go across the country and take over that bad production.  Next episode of BBF: World War 3 happens.  It is just 10 seconds of a mushroom cloud and then THE END!  That would be a big favor to all.

How many bookshelves / bookcases do you have?
Five.  Of the five, only one bookshelf doesn’t have any books on it.  It has toys, puzzles, and board games.

If you had the choice to meet all of your favourite book bloggers or all of your favourite authors, which would you pick?
I rather have fun than be a nervous, twitching, frozen fool.  Get me the book bloggers. 

Insta-love: yes or no?
Insta-attraction, but they have to “grand” gesture to make it love.  

Favourite author?
ME!  Just kidding.  Again, favorite issues.  I have authors that never disappointed me and I trust.  Does that count?  Terry Pratchett and Amanda Quick are on that list.  there’s more… But, I’m drawing a blank, man!

What is the number-one book on your wishlist?
For non-fiction it is YUREI ATTACK!  I really like that series.  It is the only one of the three I don’t own (NINJA ATTACK! was the first one I bought.)  Comics wise it is PRIDE AND PREJUDICE done by Marvel.  Regular fiction?  Don’t have one as my husband bought me a ton over the holiday.

Do you prefer books with female or male protagonists?
I just want protagonists I give a crap about.  I won’t side with someone just because of their sex in an argument, so why would I discriminate on them for carrying a book/plot?

Which is your favourite book-to-film adaption?
To continue being contrary, I actually have a reverse favorite.  And it isn’t a book, but a manga.  There’s this short film called THE VOICES OF A DISTANT STAR.  It was super successful and they went on to write a manga version of it.  Love both versions to pieces. Squee!  But, to stay true to the question (somewhat), the Colin Firth mini-series version of PRIDE AND PREJUDICE.

What is the last song you listened to?
Aside from the one I linked at the top?  SPY by Super Junior.  Go kick it in the butt!  Go kick it!

Which do you enjoy reading more – negative reviews or positive reviews?
I once bought a book based on raving reviews in a magazine.  I hated it.  I have gone and looked at reviews for books I liked.  I found people trashing them.  I learned the only way I’ll know if I’ll like something is if I get my own opinion.  Reviews are only good if durability is an issue (like for can openers).

Who are you going to tag?
NO ONE!  I always feel awkward tagging people.  If you want to do it, consider yourself tagged.  Just let me know you did it by leaving a comment.

Thanks to Jae (mentioned above) for tagging me.  Sorry that I can’t have favorites.
Any questions about my answers?

Categories: Reading | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

