Managing the Bumps

ROW80

2/9 Check-In

My weeks have been quite bumpy since the start of the year.  My accepting real life and tempering my expectations with it was a seriously good resolution.  It is probably why I haven’t ended up crying in a corner by now.

This week’s bumps included me not realizing until Saturday (late afternoon) that my license was expired.  I had to renew it Monday, but I didn’t have the car.  That meant a walk in frigid temperatures, which I mostly ended up enjoying.  Could have been warmer, though.  It also meant our taxes were filed two days later than we planned on.  Wednesday probably should have been a snow day, but it wasn’t.  There was an early release from school for the kids.  Oh, and lots of snow.  Way too much snow.  Friday was a two hour delay for the kids that I didn’t know about until I almost left my son at an empty bus stop.

I’m still on Cycle 2 (editing) of my new writing schedule.  I finished editing NERITE, but still have a few pages to go on GRANDMA.  As for my other plan, the stickers, I did way better this week than last week.  Improvement is yay!  I also decided that for February that the Angry Birds will be 30 minutes of watching a Korean drama (TO THE BEAUTIFUL YOU).  That is about half an episode and what I can usually squeeze in a day.

140207_001

I gave up trying to shovel it all.

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) – Friday 2 hour delay. Did 3.
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) – Did 4.
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – Barely better than last week. Visited 0 ROWers on Monday and 4 on Thursday.

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story – NERITE edit pass 1 done.  
Write 10,000 Words On TJ – 5,041/10,000 | 50% done – On hold until next Cycle 1
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – 2/5 | No new progress

I hope to finish GRANDMA edits on Monday.  That means another day off on Wednesday.  Thursday, I have to another day off from writing, as I’ll be baking cupcakes for my daughter’s class party.  With luck, I’ll be starting Cycle 3 on Friday.

Any New Year’s resolutions working out well for you?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Managing the Bumps

  1. Looks like you’re making progress, and progress is good, right? I don’t do resolutions, but my goals are so far, so good. Good luck with yours!

    • Progress very is good. I do my best to move forward rather than stand still. Glad to hear your goals are going well. Hope you continue to have success as well.

  2. I didn’t have a New Year’s resolution in place for this year. I already had so many goals in place for 2014 by the end of last year that adding a New Year’s resolution seemed like overreaching. I am nearly halfway through with my current WIP, so that is exciting. I’m hoping to finish it by sometime in March.

    Good luck with your goals, Gloria. I would say that I hope Mother Nature doesn’t interfere with your plans for this week, but there’s big winter storm heading my way midweek and I’m not sure if you’re also in its path. In any case, have a wonderful week! 🙂

    • Goals totally trump resolutions. I only have one project/goal for 2014, so I had room for resolutions. Though one of my resolutions is very goal like (sell a short story this year).

      You have a great work speed! I hope you continue to do well and finish when you expect to.

      Actually, it seems Mother Nature is focusing south of us. My only interruption shall be those cupcakes. If I’m lucky, there will be an extra for me. 😉

Leave a Reply

