The Week That Wasn’t

ROW80

2/2 Check-In

This week felt like I was snatching defeat from the jaws of victory.

Monday through Wednesday were snow days. No complaints. Though, I had this major “DUH!” moment during it.  While I did nothing Monday and Tuesday, on Wednesday I found stupid little fiddly things to do with my writing.  Things outside of my cycle schedule.  And I realized I needed to have some sort of “Snow Day Writing Plan,” so I can do something rather than nothing.

Thursday morning, I woke up thinking things would get back to normal. I sat on my bed and felt the back pain that had started the night before.  No big.  I’m used to a little back pain.  I can work around it.

I then stood and made my way to my bathroom.  Standing up was a bad idea.  It felt like my upper body was crushing down on the small of my back.  Pain radiated out like a boulder’s ripple after it was dropped in a kiddie pool.  I lost my sight for a few seconds and then it came back with blinking stars.  I broke out in a sweat from the pain.  I never had back pain like this before.

Them bones. Them bones. Them backbones.

Needless to say, Thursday and Friday were mostly spent in bed.  I took my daughter’s laptop and used a Chrome incognito window so not to taint it with my electronic trail.  Before getting in bed the first day, I emailed myself NERITE (short story) and edited little bits of it as my attention allowed.  Mostly I fought to stay awake, talked on Gmail/facebook, and watched hamster videos.  Saturday was chore catch up.

Goals were on hold…

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) – Did 0
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) – Did 0
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – Did 0

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story – Got a few parts of NERITE edited.
Write 10,000 Words On TJ – 5,041/10,000 | 50% done – On hold until next Cycle 1
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – 2/5 | No new progress

I have a few things I need to think on (I keep a list and Snow Day Writing Plan is just the latest addition) and I need to take the time to think on them this week.  By Monday, unless I do something stupid, I should be able to return to somewhat normal living.  Back to studying during meals, getting edits done, and back to getting stickers galore in my achievement book.

What do you do to cheer yourself up after a rough week?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , | 13 Comments

Post navigation

13 thoughts on “The Week That Wasn’t

  1. I usually feel much better if I either complete a task I missed or if I get a head start on the next week. Also, running the dishwasher or doing a load of laundry makes me feel highly productive.

    • I envy your dishwasher. I haven’t had one in over 12 years. Miss it.

      I have to agree. There is something about laundry, probably because of how it represents a week or so of clothes, that leaves one feeling very accomplished.

  2. kathils

    Yikes! I hope your back is doing much better. 😦 My cheer up for a rough week is a glass of wine, a fire, a movie, and the company of my dogs.

    • My back is doing much better, thank you. Good thing too, because on Saturday I went to get my taxes done and found my license was expired. Today I have to walk to the BMV. Then I have to contact the tax place to have them finish filing it.

      WEEEEEEEEEEEE!

      Friday I had wine with dinner. Definitely helped. Might have something stronger after all this license business is sorted out, too. 😉

      • kathils

        Wow. You are having some fun now, aren’t you. 😉

        Wine helps with most everything.

        • The walk turned out to be not so bad. It was 36 minutes round trip. Most of me stayed warm (next time, shorts for a second layer). But, I’m on day eight of no real writing. Hopefully, that turns around starting tomorrow. 🙂

  3. Sorry to hear about.the back pain!

    • Thank you. The bed rest did the trick, along with lightened chore list. I’m at manageable levels now. Do it enough and you develop a system. Though, I hope to never feel back pain that bad again. The normal levels are just fine. 😉

  4. Yikes. I hope you’re back on your feet now. I’ve only had bad back pain a couple of times, but it makes it hard to focus on anything. I’m impressed you were able to focus on editing your story. Not sure I could’ve done anything but lie in bed and stare at the ceiling.

    I hope this week goes better for you!

    • I am. Thank you. 🙂

      Medicine and guilt kept me from just doing nothing. I figured a paragraph was better than nothing. Trust me, each day I crawled in that bed (after getting kids out the door), I had high expectations of myself (read 100 pages, edit the whole short story, and watch Korean dramas). I only managed little bits. Enough to keep the guilt away.

  5. Hopefully all your writing inspiration has been dammed up over the past week and will come gushing out to make up for it. Good luck!

    • I wish I could let that writing inspiration loose, but alas I’ve got that short story to finish editing and about 8 pages of another manuscript I want to rewrite/edit. Maybe at the end of the month I’ll get back to writing.

Leave a Reply

