ARROW vs. AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.

So good, it ruins other shows for me.

After AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D. had been on for a month, a theory cemented into my mind.  I like S.H.I.E.L.D. less because I watch/love ARROW.  If ARROW weren’t around, I’d probably like S.H.I.E.L.D. twice or even thrice as much.  My lack of S.H.I.E.L.D. love is all ARROW’s fault.

Why?  Lots of reasons.

Let’s start with pacing.  ARROW packs more plot in half a show than S.H.I.E.L.D. does in a whole one.  To me, S.H.I.E.L.D. is paced like BUFFY or ANGEL. Great for the 90’s/00’s, but not now.  And someone may cry “Joss!” at this point, but he’s busy and this is being written by other people.  Just because his name is tied to the show it doesn’t mean they must stick with his pacing/formula.

Next, there’s use of cast.  ARROW has a plot for every character.  They do their best, and successfully, balance all these plots along with giving us a “plot of the week.”  S.H.I.E.L.D. has slowly, like a snail, been giving plots to the cast.  However, they tack most of these on at the end or in small moments or into big events.

I wanted to love you…

A small issue…  Not to be superficial, but S.H.I.E.L.D. is lacking eye candy for me.  ARROW spreads the eye candy around.  Into girls?  Both shows have plenty of beautiful girls.  Into guys?  S.H.I.E.L.D. gives you Ward… Love Coulson, but he’s not fap material.

Finally, the unknowns. Oliver’s time on the island vs. Sky’s origin.  The restart in January changed the original unknowns for S.H.I.E.L.D.  However, it did not change my issue with the use.  It is not only how they use them, but their “weight.” If you did not watch the January 14th S.H.I.E.L.D. episode or the current season of ARROW.   ***SPOILER*** Skip the rest of this paragraph!  Now.  Okay, spoiler unafraid people…  Lots of people died for Sky!  She is an unknown thingy!  Um, yeah.  Not big enough for me.  Because, it doesn’t feel menacing, just because one dude said it.  All tell./No show.  Oliver’s time on the island is not only in the past, but finds ways to tie into the current story, and has stakes in the present.  Miraku!  Slade!  Roy!  OMG, the island is never letting him go, even if he’s home.

Look, I like S.H.I.E.L.D.  I just can’t love it.  Both S.H.I.E.L.D. and ARROW are comic/superhero shows, so I can’t help comparing.

Did one show ever ruin another for you?

~*~      ~*~      ~*~

How I’ve been feeding my geek side: Fixed the glitch that was stopping my son from playing SPORE.  Watched episodes 3 & 4 of the train wreck known as BOYS BEFORE FRIENDS. Played more UNDERWORLD and then we switched to SAVAGE WORLDS (pen and paper RPGs).  Played OKAMI (on my PS2) despite my children conspiring with the weather.

Recent Additions To My Writing Music Playlist:
CATCH ME by TVXQ – It is a catchy tune.
HEARTBREAKER by G Dragon – One of the first K-Pop songs I got hooked on.
DOOM DADA by TOP – Makes references to art and movies.
NO MERCY by BAP – Their name means Best Absolute Perfect.
ASTERISK by Orange Range – Wasn’t this an anime theme song? 😉

~*~      ~*~      ~*~
P.S. – Today… It my birthday.

Categories: Hobbies | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “ARROW vs. AGENTS OF S.H.I.E.L.D.

  1. Happy birthday! Hope you had lots of fun!

    I used to watch Arrow but I got a little tired of the “everyone you thought was dead was really training as a superhero on a desert isle” thing. The show did have wonderful opening sequences, though, since about 95% of them involved half-naked exercising. 🙂 I’m digging Shield. It’s complex and well-written, though it is true that the male eye candy is somewhat missing. Ward doesn’t do anything for me and Coulson is sweet but the fap? No.

    • Thank you. I had a good day, for sure. 🙂

      I can understand how the not dead/superhero thing can be hard to swallow. However, I attribute that to the comic origins. (I mean how many of Spiderman’s nemesis were born from botched science experiments?)

      Like you. Ward doesn’t do it for me. I gave him credit for it because he was the one that came closest. I agree that it is well-written but, I’ll respectfully have to disagree that it is complex. I find the plots mostly transparent. The writing keeps me watching (snappy lines and characters).

Leave a Reply

