WIPpet Wednesday: Miami

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date (1/22/14) gets a simple and slightly more complicated, but still fairly simple treatment.  The month becomes the page (1).  And we’ll go with the (2+2 = 4) opening lines.  We’ll be counting the date and location as 1 line, okay?

What’s My WIPpet?
We’ll be visiting my problem child WIP, TJ.  It isn’t problem child by genre, so much as it is being rife with issues.  As for the actual genre, probably Urban Fantasy.

This Week’s WIPpet
September 28th | Miami, Florida

A ghost tried to strangle me to death today, and I almost deserved it. I didn’t do anything to the ghost. I’m talking karma.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

~*~     ~*~     ~*~
My WIPs
Click Link For Explanation

TJ – The pre-writing packet I used to prepare this was flawed.  The format is a bit of a challenge.  All in all, it is a bit of a mess.  However, I plan to finish it, even though it was supposed to be a novel and it is turning out more like a long short story/novelette.  Aiming to finish this before Feb. 15th.
Nerite – I’m working toward my resolution to sell a short story this year.  The rough for this is done.  It is quite rough and it will hopefully get better with its first edits pass (starts later this week/early next week).  First edits should be done before end of Jan.
Closure – A few years ago, I hit a bump in the road that stopped me from writing for over a year.  This was the WIP I was doing at the time.  I’m finishing it for closure.  No time frame on this.
Grandma – I’ll hopefully be editing this at the same time or before NERITE.  I hope to be done the 1st quarter of rewrites/edits by the end of the month.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Miami

  1. Ooh, nice snippet!

  2. Thank you very much. 🙂

  3. Love the snippet! So vivid and arresting! The short ones are my favorite – they can pack such a punch!

Leave a Reply

