Outline Doom

ROW80

1/19 Check-In

This week, I’m a little irritated about my pre-writing packet (where I collect setting, character profiles, outline, and so on).  When I used the latest version (always trying to make it better), I already knew I needed to make changes.  However, I didn’t see just how flawed the new outline section was until I wrote from it.

I spent weeks on that outline.  Weeks.  Guys, the pre-writing packet for TJ (what I’m currently writing) comes to over 13k.  TJ itself?  I’ll be lucky to hit that much.  Which means trouble for my Write 10,000 Words on TJ.  It means a goal modification, at some point.  I’ll figure it out.  However, I don’t know what this means for the future of TJ.

Despite the outline doom, other things are going well.  My sticker reward program is working great.  I earned more stickers this week than last week.  There is still room for improvement, but I’m good with the results from either week.  My writing cycle schedule is doing well too.  I’m 91 words from finishing my first Cycle 1.    I hope to finish the cycle on Monday (if not Wednesday) along with the rough of my first short story of the year. Can’t wait for my first day off between cycles.  Not sure how I’ll spend it, yet.

On to the goals update!

How I felt after my outline discovery.
~*~
Photo by Scrumshus

Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) – Missed 1 day due to kids having no school Friday. Did 3.
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) – Missed 1 day due to kids having no school Friday. Did 3.
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – Visited 4 ROWers on Monday and 4 on Thursday.

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story – Almost finished rough draft.
Write 10,000 Words On TJ – 4,909/10,000 | 49% done
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – 2/5 | Done last Sunday

This week, the kids have off Monday.  However, they are to be with their grandfather.  I’m hoping to write during that time, but not counting on it.  When I enter Cycle 2, I plan to edit 15 pages of GRANDMA’s rough draft, (if finished) give a first pass to my short story, and write a quick/messy pre-writing packet (not using current one) for a chapter book I have kicking my noggin (as TJ will likely finish early next Cycle 1).

Have you tried something new for your writing lately?
Did it succeed or fail?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Outline Doom

  1. Ooo I like the sticker idea. As a homeschool mom, I’ve used the idea for rewarding my son, but I never thought to apply it to my own work. What a great idea to help visualize success 🙂

    • I’m quite certain many of us don’t out grow stickers. It is just people stop giving them to us. 😉

      I hope you find your own sticker way and have great success with it.

  2. Oh, the number of times I’ve worked hard to put together a lovely worksheet to make everything easier only to find I missed something in the process. I feel your pain. 😦

    • In my case, rather than miss something, I added too much. Here I thought I had all this stuff, because it took so long to do. However, I had very little and over complicated the process. Oh well, we all make mistakes. I just got to find time to fix the packet.

  3. Sometimes, when I have a really snarly situation, I move onto something else, and, in a few days, I can see a bit of the way to clean things up, then more, and more. Often, by the time I finish, I have something far better than what I would have had, if I stuck with the tangly original.

    I’m sorry it didn’t work out the way you hoped, but maybe it’ll end up better than you hoped!

    I know what you mean about the thick packet. The prep work for my November NaNo might well be 50K words (Most of my biographies end up delving deeply into incidents in the characters’ lives – for pages and pages…).

    It looks like you are rocking your other goals, though, so hopefully you’ll have the time to tweak the packet and get back on course. =)

    • At the moment, I’m thankfully getting a small break, as I finished this rotation’s Cycle 1 (writing). Thursday I’ll move onto Cycle 2 (editing) and focus on a project I really like.

      However, I’ll eventually end up back to Cycle 1 and TJ. It could change, but for now the plan is to finish what I have outlined and then forget about it for a few rotations. Maybe, when I go look back at it, I’ll know what to do with it then (extend or scrap or something).

      I’m hoping in a future Cycle 2 or 3 I’ll have an opening to edit the packet. I just have so much going on that I keep setting it on the back burner. I’ll make due best I can without it until that time. Small projects ahoy!

Leave a Reply

