WIPpet Wednesday: Mom Got Her Way

WIPpetWedWhat’s WIPpet Wednesday?
Wednesday is for the day of the week I (and others) share a WIPpet.  The word WIPpet is the joining of the word snippet with the acronym WIP, which stands for Work In Progress.  Using the date to conjure up a math formula, WIPpeteers (the group of people that share WIPpets) figure out how much to share.

My WIPpet Math
The date (1/15/14)  needs some fancy math.  For starters, let’s add all the ones (1 + 1 + 1 = 3) for the number of sentences I’ll share.  Let’s add the remaining numbers (5 + 4 = 9) for the page.

What’s My WIPpet?
Today is the last day, for a while, that I’ll be sharing from GRANDMA.  This is a modern day, MG fantasy needs to wait for me to enter Cycle 2 of my new writing schedule before it can get more attention.  I have 3 other projects going on,* so I’m not sure what I’ll share from next week.  However, totally promise to come back to this as soon as I can!

This Week’s WIPpet
I couldn’t stand seeing the bouncing, waving, idiot, George anymore. I just turned and headed further onto the gravel. Pulling the strap of my backpack closer to my neck, I set down the driveway.

Want to give it a go or read the WIPpeteers’ works?
KL Schwengel runs the show.
Find the linkie on her page to read the WIPpets or join in.

*-Not sure how that happened.

Categories: WIPpet Wednesday | Tags: , , , | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “WIPpet Wednesday: Mom Got Her Way

  1. I kinda want to know more about George – he may be a bouncing, waving, idiot but he also sounds quite interesting.

    Three more projects on the go, I’m impressed. Looking forward to seeing what you decided to share with us next week.

    • George will be around for nearly every scene from this point on. Small reveal: He’s Lizzie’s cousin (he’s the son of her father’s twin).

  2. I’m totally feeling that character’s irritation. George sounds like he’d have me turning on my heel too.

    • I started of not liking him much. George sucks at reading the mood and currently over excited. But, he grows on you as the book goes on.

  3. kathils

    Ha! I think I know George. 😉 Well, I know a bouncing, waving idiot. They just beg for a slap up alongside the nogging.

  4. Yup,irritation achieved, just as you intended. *g* Pretty effective for only a few words!

  5. haha, the first image I had was of those funny blowy guys people put outside their stores to grab attention. 😉

  6. Hehehe. Great lines! I;m not sure I have the right scene going without context, but I got a clear picture. 🙂

    • Context… I should have done that. Sorry! Lizzie’s mom dropped them off at the end of Grandma’s driveway. Mom is driving off and Lizzie is still grumpy. Glad that I at least got the action across. 🙂

  7. This piece follows right on the heels of last week’s WIPpet, right, Gloria? Lizzie has such a angst-ridden mood on her… Not that George’s seeming oblivion is much better, but.. some balance?

    I think I’m going to miss GRANDMA, but I totally get the need to switch projects around.

    • It is unrealistic in my opinion to have them feel and act differently than they are now. “Balance” makes no sense. My kids are only in “balanced” moods when everything is status quo. When “big deal” stuff is at stake it is a different story (emotions run high).

      This visit is a big deal to Lizzie and George for different reasons. And fact is that right now, these kids are being thrown about because their parents are all in a hurry. No one has had time to have a good sit down with them to try and calm them.

      As you have only gotten snippets, you have missed the motives tied to their moods. To the reader, these moods will make sense.

      • ACK! I totally phrased that wrong….

        I didn’t mean that the kids should (or could) be balanced, but that I could imagine their mother sitting in the car after they were out of it going “whew! I feel like I’ve been on a rollercoaster dealing with the two of them”. The kids are being … well, kids. But the extremes of the two of them must be intense to deal with. that’s all.

        • Sorry that I misunderstood your meaning. As a mom of two. Yes. That is very intense. And always ill timed. They are good at that.

Leave a Reply

