A Dash of DOOM and Lots of New

ROW80

1/12 Check-In

Like many Americans, my life went a little wonky due to The Polar Vortex of DOOM!  And just like Santa (from the same area code), the vortex brought presents.  Three snow days!!!  Normally, I’m all for snow days.  But, the kids had been home for two weeks and these snow days came with “stay inside unless you can’t help it” warning.

The kids being home also created its own kind of DOOM! to my writing plans/goals.  I’m not saying I didn’t do anything… I did some fixes to a manuscript, found some anthology markets I was interested in, outlined a short story, and did a bit of research.  But, did I write, write?  Nope, not those days.  Not until Thursday.

140111_001

Picture taken on Saturday, very early in the morning.
My accomplishment book for Jan 6 – 12.
***
My Little Pony – Writing/Editing/Plotting
Tinkerbell – Exercise
Angry birds – Reading

The vortex didn’t doom my new sticker reward plan.  However, on Friday it became painfully obvious that end of the weeks were going to be less sticker-rific than the start of the week.  Fridays I do my major cleaning and, starting last week, I follow that with an afternoon of video games (because cleaning sucks and I need something to look forward to).  And the weekend is the weekend, which comes with its own complications.  Does it mean it is a bad system?  Nope.  It just means that instead of aiming for 2 stickers those days, I’ll aim for 1 and call it a complete win with 2.

When things returned to normal on Thursday, I started Cycle 1 of my new writing schedule.  Of course, day 1 of this revealed an easy mistake to make (and I made it).  First off, somehow, I ended up with 3 projects to work on.  That’s fine and fits the plan.  However, instead of just nit-picking/slowly adding to my additional projects, I focused on them more than my main project.  I need to watch where I spend most my time, in other words.

A Look At My Goals:
Every Week
Review Grammar 4 Days (breakfast) – Kids’ snow days robbed 2 days.  Did 2 days.
Study Japanese 4 Days (lunch) – Kids’ snow days robbed 2 days.  Did 2 days.
Visit 2 ROWers (minimum) Each Check-In – I’ll start this on Monday.

Before Round Ends
Write/Finish 1 Short Story – Outlined and started.
Write 10,000 Words On TJ – 1,335/10,000 | 13% done
Complete 5 Projects (from project/procrastination list) – Not started yet. 0/5

This week, the kids will have off on Friday.  That means another study day will be lost  Thankfully, that seems to be the only big change on the horizon.  Of course, plans change and I could be speaking too soon.

Did the vortex impose on your writing?

Categories: ROW80 | Tags: , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

